Hello from Sweden! (interested in robotics, computer vision)

First time on the site? Say hello here!
johanar

Hello from Sweden! (interested in robotics, computer vision)

Post by johanar »

Hey everybody.

Let's start with the personal stuff.. I'm a student at Chalmers University in Gothenburg, Sweden. Currently taking a bachelor's in computer science, but I've previously studied electrotechnology (3 years) and entertainment design and technology (masters). This semester I'm working on my bachelor's thesis, design and construction of a laser guided AGV, and taking classes in programming languages and advanced digital technology / vhdl design.

In my spare time I'm trying to get started with robotics but I'm a little short on cash as expected, so I'm going to start with a simple wheeled Arduino based thingy. I'd love to experiment with computer vision and hearing, but the digital cameras that are easy to interface with the somewhat limited Arduino are too expensive. Instead I'm planning on saving up to a ultrasound sensor so I can stick that and an IR sensor on some servos to get some limited perception of the robot's surroundings.

The raw processing power and low power consumption of the XMOS looks promising and it would be fun to try out. Maybe I'd try to design some kind of robot platform with A/D, D/A and some motor drivers if I had one. Currently I'm just looking into what other's are doing, to see if it's worth saving for :)

Cheers!

TonyD
XCore Addict

Post by TonyD »

Hi Johan

Welcome aboard.

Robotic ideas and projects feature a lot in what people are wanting to use Xmos for. There was a competition on letsmakerobots.com recently and a CNC laser engraver in the projects directory.

Check out the project pages and special interest groups for what people have been doing.
johanar

Post by johanar »

Thanks Tony!