Greetings from East Tennessee, USA

First time on the site? Say hello here!
Mekkatronix
New User

Greetings from East Tennessee, USA

Post by Mekkatronix »

I am NEW to the XCore family, and I mean NEW as in today. I am using the Parallax Propeller, but am really interested in the XCore and plan to purchase a startKIT very soon. In the meantime, can anyone give me good reasons for considering the XCore in my projects instead of the Propeller? I welcome your comments on this. Thank you.

-Mekkatronix

Folknology
XCore Legend

Post by Folknology »

Welcome to XCore Mekkatronix, without knowing the details of your project it is difficult to answer relative benefits vs say a Propeller, However I would personally say one of the key benefits of using the Xmos devices generally is the great extensions to C that XC brings (If you're an assembly geek then maybe this is less of a benefit), I have found XC to make my concurrent development a great deal simpler, I especially enjoy it's event based nature.

I am sure others can trumpet their own personal benefits from using Xmos devices/toolkits

regards
Al
Ross
XCore Expert

Post by Ross »

Welcome :)
Mekkatronix
New User

Post by Mekkatronix »

Folknology wrote:Welcome to XCore Mekkatronix, without knowing the details of your project it is difficult to answer relative benefits vs say a Propeller, However I would personally say one of the key benefits of using the Xmos devices generally is the great extensions to C that XC brings (If you're an assembly geek then maybe this is less of a benefit), I have found XC to make my concurrent development a great deal simpler, I especially enjoy it's event based nature.

I am sure others can trumpet their own personal benefits from using Xmos devices/toolkits

regards
Al