x-flash and data partition + OTP programming

Technical questions regarding the xTIMEcomposer, xSOFTip Explorer and Programming with XMOS.
kster59
XCore Addict
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:51 am

x-flash and data partition + OTP programming

Postby kster59 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:16 pm

I want to store some data in the Flash. In the manual it says the default boot partition is the entire boot partition is 0 bytes. How do I specify / allocate some space on the data partition? I looked through the documentation but could not find it. I would assume it should be an Xflash command when writing the initial flash to the device.

Also I've been using the OTP with the AES loader. The AES loader is created and burned into OTP but I can't modify it since there is no source. Is this available or is there a way to store additional information into the OTP (serial number/mac address) and read it back out?

Often times I want to serialize the device and issue firmware updates to my customers but do not want the firmware update to overwrite the serialized data. It's best if I could write this into OTP and read out parts of the OTP but as a current workaround I can settle for writing into the data partition of the flash which wouldn't be erased with a firmware update.
User avatar
Bianco
XCore Expert
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Contact:

Postby Bianco » Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:01 am

kster59 wrote:I want to store some data in the Flash. In the manual it says the default boot partition is the entire boot partition is 0 bytes. How do I specify / allocate some space on the data partition? I looked through the documentation but could not find it. I would assume it should be an Xflash command when writing the initial flash to the device.


try xflash with the following option:
--boot-partition-size <n>
Specify the size of the boot partition as <n> bytes


The remaining space will be the data partition.
shyamkrish8iitm
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 11:20 am

Postby shyamkrish8iitm » Mon May 28, 2012 11:27 am

In the command window, I typed

xflash -target=XK-1A --boot-partition-size 120000

I am getting a message, "ERROR: F03021 No input archive specified
User avatar
Bianco
XCore Expert
Posts: 721
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Contact:

Postby Bianco » Mon May 28, 2012 11:54 am

shyamkrish8iitm wrote:In the command window, I typed

xflash -target=XK-1A --boot-partition-size 120000

I am getting a message, "ERROR: F03021 No input archive specified


You need to specify the XE file in order for xflash to know what to flash :)
User avatar
JohnWilson
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:53 pm
Contact:

Postby JohnWilson » Tue May 29, 2012 6:01 am

Just out of curiosity, is there a way to do this in the IDE settings or do you have to do the xflash command by hand to have a data partition?
User avatar
XMatt
XCore Addict
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:55 pm
Contact:

Postby XMatt » Tue May 29, 2012 1:11 pm

JohnWilson wrote:Just out of curiosity, is there a way to do this in the IDE settings or do you have to do the xflash command by hand to have a data partition?


Yes there is a flash configurations menu which allows you to input these settings and flash the device.

flash_configurations.png
(68.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
flash_configurations.png
(68.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
User avatar
JohnWilson
Active Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:53 pm
Contact:

Postby JohnWilson » Tue May 29, 2012 7:00 pm

No idea why I had trouble finding that before. Beautiful -- thanks!!!

Return to “Development Tools and Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ers35 and 6 guests