Using SliceKit to measure 2 simultaneous voltages

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
Greg
New User

Using SliceKit to measure 2 simultaneous voltages

Post by Greg »

I am trying to use the sliceKit to precisely measure 2 signals. Currently, I want to input the analog signals into the GPIO slice. I need 32 bit precision on each signal, so I am using one tile on the main board for each signal. I'm not sure if it would be better to input the signal to the audio slice rather than the GPIO slice. Also, can I input 2 signals on the slice and read them at the same precision or do I need to put each signal on a separate slice? I'm new to microcontrollers, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks

TSC
Experienced Member

Post by TSC »

32-bit analogue to digital (ADC) precision is far higher than what's normally possible in real life.

That would mean 2^32 or 4294967296 possible levels. If for example you were measuring a signal that has lower and upper bounds of 0 and 5 V, that would result in an analogue resolution of 1164 pV (picovolts or 10^-12 volts).

You need to decide on the actual precision you need, the accuracy you need (precision/resolution and accuracy are different things) and the maximum sample rate required.

The GPIO Slice uses an AD7995 ADC which has four input channels. Channel 0 is wired to a thermistor and the remaining three channels are accessible through a connector. I suggest you do a bit of research on ADCs (Wikipedia is not a bad place to start) and read the AD7995 datasheet to decide if it's a suitable part. If you do need a higher performance part, it wouldn't be too much trouble to design and build a custom Slice.
Greg
New User

Post by Greg »

I need a minimum of 24 bit precision. Since the board only has 1,4,8,16 and 32 bit ports, I need to use a 32 bit port. How would I go about designing and custom slice?
TSC
Experienced Member

Post by TSC »