xScope in Audio 2.0 Reference Design

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
pattobrien

xScope in Audio 2.0 Reference Design

Post by pattobrien »

Hi All,

I'm new to the XMOS community and would appreciate any guidance here. I'm trying to read xScope values in the audio reference design for the U16 slicekit, but have no idea where to put the xscope_probe_data() function. I'm not sure which .xc file to place the function, so if anyone could help show me the way to get real time scoping working on the reference design, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Pat

Minamisava

Post by Minamisava »

Hello!
Folknology helped out here:
https://www.xcore.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... it=#p17839

and general documentation (including xscope):
https://www.xmos.com/support/documentation?secure=1
infiniteimprobability
XCore Legend

Post by infiniteimprobability »

I'm not sure which .xc file to place the function
That would depend on what it is you want to monitor.. Some parts of the reference design are best left alone (unless you know XMOS and the UAC2 spec inside-out) but if you wanted to look at stereo audio output samples then you could put the probe calls here in audio.xc, at around line 450, something like:

Code: Select all

#pragma loop unroll
                for(int i = 0; i < NUM_USB_CHAN_OUT; i++)
                {
                    int tmp = inuint(c_out);
                    samplesOut[i] = tmp;
                }
            }
xscope_int(LEFT, samplesOut[0]);
xscope_int(RIGHT, samplesOut[1]);
Be aware that most of the code is real-time and so you need to be a bit careful about breaking timing of loops. You should be OK up to 192KHz here for 2 channels though..
pattobrien

Post by pattobrien »

Thank you both for your replies, I'll check that out now.

Yes I wanted to analyze the audio inputs/outputs, so thats a good place to start. I was wondering (since it's sort of on the same topic) if one of you could answer another question I have.