Having trouble with XMOS IDE, Version: 11.11.1 (build 4707)

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1913
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mon2 »

@Lorien, go here:

http://www.xmos.com/support/software/uac2

Download the USB AUDIO 2.0 REFERENCE SOFTWARE - you will need to use your free user account to download this source code.

Then, File>Import>Existing Projects into Workspace -> "Select Archive file" and point to the downloaded .zip file as the source. Select the app you wish to build and wait for 5-10 mins while the compiler chugs away. Ignore the warnings.

Does this work for you? It should or perhaps I am just a lucky dog? :)
Attachments
xmos_build_complete.png
(194.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
xmos_build_complete.png
(194.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Lorien
Active Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:07 am

Post by Lorien »

Hi Mon2. Thank you for input!
I'm not allowed to share that source code since it contains proprietary infos BUT I tried with the source code taken from XMOS called "USB-Audio-2.0-Software-Reference-Design(3.3)[11.2.0].zip" and I'm having exactly the same results. I attach it to this message but due to lack of experience with this forum I don't know where the link will show up.
Anyway, I''m supposing there's a problem with Java or, at least, outside of the XMOS IDE. the xTime composer does start properly, there are no complaints about Java location or anything except that 'little' stubborn error.
One side note: I also installed 14.3.3 and ran another project from XMOS and the result was flawless.
Based on that I can assume there's an incompatibility between old XMOS IDE and latest java releases...
Still I have no clue on how to solve this!

P.S. I just saw your second message! I'll apply your advice right away!
Attachments
USB-Audio-2.0-Software-Reference-Design(3.3)[11.2.0].zip
(500.33 KiB) Downloaded 216 times
Lorien
Active Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:07 am

Post by Lorien »

I just finished doing what you told me to do: same error!
I got the archive from XMOS called "USB-Audio-2.0-Device-Reference-Design-Software_3.3.zip" since it's the one my custom firmware is based on and did what you said! The project loaded perfectly, directly from archive. I right clicked on project and choose clean project and the right clicked again and build it.
The result can be seen below:

Code: Select all

**** Build of configuration XMOS Compiler Collection (xcc) for project app_usb_aud_l1 ****

xmake all 
Creating dependencies for flash_programmer.h
Creating dependencies for flash_interface.h
Creating dependencies for dfu_types.h
Creating dependencies for dfu.h
Creating dependencies for usb_midi.h
Creating dependencies for midioutparse.h
Creating dependencies for midiinparse.h
Creating dependencies for midi_descriptor.h
Creating dependencies for SpdifReceive.h
Creating dependencies for SpdifTransmit.h
Creating dependencies for xc_ptr.h
Creating dependencies for usb_buffer.h
Creating dependencies for testct_byref.h
Creating dependencies for interrupt.h
Creating dependencies for decouple.h
Creating dependencies for audioports.h
Creating dependencies for pll.h
Creating dependencies for repeat.h
Creating dependencies for mixer.h
Creating dependencies for i2c.h
Creating dependencies for vendorrequests.h
Creating dependencies for endpoint0.h
Creating dependencies for descriptors_2.h
Creating dependencies for dbcalc.h
Creating dependencies for codec.h
Creating dependencies for clocking.h
Creating dependencies for audiostream.h
Creating dependencies for devicedefines.h
Creating dependencies for dbtable.h
Creating dependencies for clockcmds.h
Creating dependencies for audio.h
Creating dependencies for xud.h
Creating dependencies for usbaudio20.h
Creating dependencies for usb.h
Creating dependencies for hid.h
Creating dependencies for common.h
Creating dependencies for DescriptorRequests.h
Creating dependencies for port32A.h
Creating dependencies for lock.h
Creating dependencies for customdefines.h
Creating dependencies for SpdifReceive.S
Creating dependencies for fastmix.S
Creating dependencies for write_sswitch_reg_blind.S
Creating dependencies for XUD_EpFuncs.S
Creating dependencies for port32A.S
Creating dependencies for lock.S
Creating dependencies for flash_programmer.xc
Creating dependencies for dfu.xc
Creating dependencies for usb_midi_support.xc
Creating dependencies for usb_midi.xc
Creating dependencies for midioutparse.xc
Creating dependencies for midiinparse.xc
Creating dependencies for SpdifTransmit.xc
Creating dependencies for xuduser.xc
Creating dependencies for usb_buffer.xc
Creating dependencies for testct_byref.xc
Creating dependencies for decouple.xc
Creating dependencies for audioports.xc
Creating dependencies for mixer.xc
Creating dependencies for i2c.xc
Creating dependencies for endpoint0.xc
Creating dependencies for dbcalc.xc
Creating dependencies for audiorequests.xc
Creating dependencies for clockgen.xc
Creating dependencies for audio.xc
Creating dependencies for XUD_UIFM_Ports.xc
Creating dependencies for XUD_EpFunctions.xc
Creating dependencies for common.xc
Creating dependencies for DescriptorRequests.xc
Creating dependencies for hostactive.xc
Creating dependencies for audiostream.xc
Creating dependencies for codec.xc
Creating dependencies for clocking.xc
Creating dependencies for main.xc
Creating dependencies for flash_interface.c
Creating dependencies for get_adc_counts.c
Creating dependencies for reboot.c
Creating dependencies for l1_audio_flash_interface.c
"Updating eclipse config"
Too many arguments in command line.
xmake: *** [eclipse_config] Error 1


While I'll wait for another solutions I'll try to strip apart my Windows OS and try to seek for ANY combination that should work with my project. Last time when I had problems with 11.1.1 I found a weird file ending with "_000" which was removed and all were okay but now it's rather different. There's no such file to be deleted. I didn't saw any reasons to start another thread...

Thank you for any helpful input,
Lucian
Lorien
Active Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:07 am

Post by Lorien »

Well, after some additional trying I gave up for the moment but only if there's someone giving me additional advice on how to solve this issue.
What I tried:
1. installed 11.11.1 and try with Java 1.8.0_181-b13 - not work (see error above).
2. installed 14.3.3 and use the same java version - 14.3.3 works like a charm (? wth)
3. uninstalled java 1.8 put back an older version (6 I guess) + run 11.11.1 - same error above.
4. removed old java version and put back 1.8, I checked for PATH + JAVA_HOME + other things and set up properly => still got the error.
5. I thought that there's something wrong with my Windows Home edition as in the past I used Windows enterprise. So I enabled Long Path (Regedit => LongPathsEnabled). Nothing!
6. It seems that it doesn't care which version of the project I'm using as I'm getting the same error. I used my own / custom firmware or (untouched) XMOS variants => doesn't care / got the same error.
7. checked if my java is function properly and it seems so (14.3.3 is proving that!).
8. Yes, I'm using a 32 bit java app. Any attempts to run xTime Composer with a 64 bit version => issue other type of error complaining about Java version installed so I know there should be a 32 bit ver. installed.
9. uninstalled java, uninstalled 11.11.1, installed again 11.11.1 and then java => nothing.

The VERY strange thing is that on my Windows enterprise machine this bundle is working okay! yes, 11.11.1 and Java 1.8 is working okay! EDIT: but there were many changes to it over the years so I cannot say what's the reason behind this rather weird behavior!

Speaking of Windows, my actual OS is like this: 64 bit OS, version 1803 / OS Build 17134.254 Could it be something from my W10 Home?

As I said, so far I gave up wishing to get any help from you as I have no clue what I should do to fix this thing.
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1913
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mon2 »

Try, running eclipse with -clean argument.
Lorien
Active Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:07 am

Post by Lorien »

I saw this option somewhere on the internet but I have no idea how to apply it! There was someone else having similar issue and he was adviced over separate ticket to add a value on his environment variable. Still, do you have some spare time to tell me how to enable this -clean option?
Thank you!
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1913
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mon2 »

Hi. On Windows 7, 64 bit here.

1) Attempted the original XMOS USB Audio 2.0 version you attached to your post and found the same raised error with xTimeComposer 14.3.3.

2) Downloaded the older 11.11.1 IDE as I did not have this on my box and imported your (official) XMOS project with this older IDE. Compiles fine on my side. Please see attached log file.
lorien_test_xmos.txt
(6 KiB) Downloaded 173 times
lorien_test_xmos.txt
(6 KiB) Downloaded 173 times
xmos_lorien_compiled2.png
(40.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
xmos_lorien_compiled2.png
(40.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
xmos_lorien_compiled1.png
(84.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
xmos_lorien_compiled1.png
(84.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
BTW: My Java version is (build 1.8.0_151-b12)
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1913
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mon2 »

xmos_my_coffee_version.png
xmos_my_coffee_version.png (24.29 KiB) Viewed 4348 times
xmos_my_coffee_version.png
xmos_my_coffee_version.png (24.29 KiB) Viewed 4348 times
Lorien
Active Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:07 am

Post by Lorien »

Thank you very much for your time! I'll try to use exactly the same software you used - except the Win OS and report back the results! I have a strong feeling this problem is related to anything other than XMOS IDE...
Lorien
Active Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 9:07 am

Post by Lorien »

After some time in digging for the issue I came up with the source of my trouble and I thought I should share it for anyone wishing to stay away of it!
My answer is simple: Windows 10 v1803. I'm assuming that I don't have to express all my 'intentions' and 'good wishes' to the Microsoft guys?....

1709, 1703, 160? works like a charm.
That's all folks! Stupid Microsoft marketing approach who really made me reconsider Apple option.
Post Reply