Error "xrun: Cannot load image, XCore 0 is not enabled" Topic is solved

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
eez-open

Error "xrun: Cannot load image, XCore 0 is not enabled"

Post by eez-open »

This is my first attempt to make connection with XE216-512-TQ128-C20 via XSYS and xTAG3. The MCU is mounted on PCB that I was designed based on the xCORE-200 eXplorerKIT board. I tried to run a simple hello world application but xrun returns the following error (I can see it in xTIMEcomposer (Community_14.3.2 (build 25550, Sep-30-2017)) console):

xrun: Cannot load image, XCore 0 is not enabled

When --list-devices option is included I can see the following:

Available XMOS Devices
----------------------

ID Name Adapter ID Devices
------ ---------- -------
0 XMOS XTAG-3 Na1_g.Ot O[0]

I'd like to know what O[0] as listed device mean, and how to get rid of that error.

View Solution
eez-open

Post by eez-open »

Thanks, I'm aware of that topic (viewtopic.php?t=3713). I've checked and found fine all except #8 (ground paddle on the L1/L2 devices, has not been correctly soldered to the board) that I don't know how to check. When xTAG is not connected or PCB is not powered on xrun does not report O[0] device and I got the following message:

xrun: Problem in connection to device

Don't know if that O[0] is an indication that MCU is properly recognized and therefore properly soldered, too.
Last edited by eez-open on Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mon2
XCore Legend

Post by mon2 »

IC19 on your design is open drain. Please confirm if the output of this OD pin to RESET_N is going high. Suggest to apply an external PU resistor onto the RESET_N pin of such OD buffers.

eez-open

Post by eez-open »

Yes, and R12 is reset pull-up (sorry for placing in on the sheet 2/5):

mon2
XCore Legend

Post by mon2 »

Please confirm the value on S pin of your MUX (IC11 and IC14 pin 1).

eez-open

Post by eez-open »