UART in multibits port.

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
Post Reply
lurnxmos
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:57 pm

UART in multibits port.

Post by lurnxmos »

Hello,

I am a newbie with Xmos and I have tried to communicate StartKit with uart 1 bit port. I have read multiuart example with two 8bits ports (RX->8bit_port_A // TX->8bit_port_B). It is possible to use multiport bit for single uart? For example: RX-->pin_0_4bit_port_A // TX-->pin_1_4bit_port_A.

Thank you for your answer.


User avatar
larry
Respected Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 6:03 pm

Post by larry »

You can just use multibit UART and ignore other bits of the ports.

If you need the other bits, you'd need to write a aggregating task and connect it to the UART task that has all its I/O operations replaced with channel/interface calls.
peter
XCore Addict
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:46 pm

Post by peter »

You can ignore bits of a port when reading, however you cannot have a port working as both an input and output port simultaneously. So you won't be able to use port 4A to simultaneously do UART RX and TX on different bits.

Regards,

Peter
Post Reply