How many UARTS will fit in an XMOS chip? Topic is solved

If you have a simple question and just want an answer.
lslarry86

How many UARTS will fit in an XMOS chip?

Post by lslarry86 »

Hi folks. I'm just getting into my first XMOS kit. My application involves at least 5 full duplex UARTS at 115200 N81, plus some I/O, running complex 50 mS cycles. It looks like the UART Library accessible through Eclipse uses a whole core for each direction.

Is there a different UART library that lets me gang 2 or 4 UARTS in one core?

What is the reasonable limit on the number of UARTS if I need, say, 6 I/O points? What if i need Ethernet too?

My current design uses an ARM for Ethernet, talking to 1 or 2 Parallax Propeller chips, each with 5 UARTS active. I'm hoping to consolidate in one XMOS and maybe add a UART or two. Will that work?

Thanks,
Larry

View Solution
mon2
XCore Legend

Post by mon2 »

Hi Larry. Welcome. XMOS is all s/w IP based so the solution is all up to you. However, you will need to define which port pins are input, which are output. Then proceed to group such ports so that the group may work all in the same direction. For example, if you apply a 4 bit port then all 4 bits of that port should be either all input or all output. Just keep that in mind.

What is your max baud rate for this design? 115.2k and under or do you expect to use higher speed?

Here is an appnote that is on topic:

https://www.xmos.com/published/serial-t ... ntation%29

This design is based on the XS1 processors but you should really consider the XCORE-200 (current and enhanced line of CPU devices). For example, the XE216 onboard the XCORE200 Explorer Kit should be able to do it all with a single CPU (has built in Ethernet). Review their Hardware Manual for schematic details. Just apply the external interface 232 or whatever xcvrs.