fabrication in UK

Non-technical related questions should go here.
ast8346

fabrication in UK

Post by ast8346 »

Hello

I need some advice where to print and assemble the board I think I have finished designing. It is AD-DA converter, USB output.

Here I would like to attach a screenshot from Eagle with layout setup, also on background you can see XMOS U8A BGA and how close it is routed, apart from BGA I have also got 2 QFNs

I will provide all components, but essentially I am looking for a place in UK where I can be present during manufacturing process (I am a student and genuinely interested in things).

I live in Manchester area, but I would not mind to travel, to say Bristol or London or anywhere else

To send the board to China or US can also be done, depending on financial benefits of it...

Looking forward for any advice

Thanks a lot!

Anton

edit. just found that OSH Park can do PCB print of it for $133 + VAT & delivery within 12 days, if I do that, I still need a place in UK where I can assemble complex components
Attachments
sshot-1.png
AD-DA Converter
(332.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet
sshot-1.png
AD-DA Converter
(332.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Folknology
XCore Legend

Post by Folknology »

I was very surprised to see you have used through hole components in your design rather than SMD parts, is there a reason for this?
You would also need to run a DRC check as many of the vias look a little large and will probably have clearance issues, along with many of the BGA tracks. If you don't have an eagle DRU file perhaps use one of PCB pool's (prob the high spec version) for now.

regards
Al
ast8346

Post by ast8346 »

Hi Al, thank you for your message
The reason for through hole components is to enable me to easily change them if I want. Say I want to try how does 500 ohm resistor work instead of 1k. That's the main reason. (I guess I could buy SMD soldering station,,)