Programming XUF208-128-TQ64-C10 chip

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. xcore-200 & xcore.ai).
Post Reply
User avatar
asid61
Active Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 6:39 am
Contact:

Programming XUF208-128-TQ64-C10 chip

Post by asid61 »

I'm attempting to make my first custom XMOS board for general purpose microcontroller usage, and settled on the XUF series for the USB functionality and ROM. However, I'm not exactly sure how to program it.
Here's an image of the simplified schematic in the data sheet.
Image
It appears that all I need for the microcontroller itself to function is a 3.3v and 1v regular, plus some discrete components.

My question is, can I just design with the above schematic in mind and program via that USB connection at the bottom using the XTime Composer tools, or do I need to break out the JTAG somehow and program using the XTAG adapter?

Image

If it's the latter, where do TDO, TCI, TCK, and TMS on the XUF need to connect to on the XTAG? Do I need to use something other than the XTAG to program it, or is there an easier way to program that I'm overlooking?


matthew1
Active Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 2:12 pm

Post by matthew1 »

Hi asid61,

I presume you're referring to programming the integrated flash? If this is small volume prototyping then you will need to programme using the XMOS tools, specifically the xflash utility, via the XTAG. Please refer to section 11 and section G of the chip datasheet for information on how the JTAG signals are wired up, you could also take a look at the schematics for any XMOS development board which show how it's done, e.g.:

https://www.xmos.com/support/boards?pro ... nent=18627

Hope this helps,

Matthew.
XMOS
User avatar
asid61
Active Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 6:39 am
Contact:

Post by asid61 »

matthew1 wrote:Hi asid61,

I presume you're referring to programming the integrated flash? If this is small volume prototyping then you will need to programme using the XMOS tools, specifically the xflash utility, via the XTAG. Please refer to section 11 and section G of the chip datasheet for information on how the JTAG signals are wired up, you could also take a look at the schematics for any XMOS development board which show how it's done, e.g.:

https://www.xmos.com/support/boards?pro ... nent=18627

Hope this helps,

Matthew.
XMOS
Sounds good, thank you! I never thought to look at the schematics for the dev board for some reason...
User avatar
asid61
Active Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 6:39 am
Contact:

Post by asid61 »

If I want to do volume programming or want to run programs from a computer, what are the best methods for doing so? Do I need any ROM memory if I'm just running programs from the computer?
matthew1
Active Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 2:12 pm

Post by matthew1 »

If you are running programs from your computer (i.e. attached via an XTAG), then use the xrun command. If you want the board to run your code immediately when powered up (i.e. not attached to a computer) then you'll need to programme the binary into the flash. You could take a look at this for starters:

https://www.xmos.com/download/private/X ... 3274B).pdf

Regards,

Matthew.
anhn@nytec.com
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 4:50 pm

Post by anhn@nytec.com »

hello, the link to the pdf is not accessible. I tried the link and login and I get an "access restricted" notice. can you provide the pdf to me at anhn@nytec.com. thank you.
matthew1
Active Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 2:12 pm

Post by matthew1 »

Hi,

it looks like the link got mangled, not sure how. Try manually entering:

https://www.xmos.com followed by /download/private/XFLASH-Command-Line-Manual(X3274B).pdf

I wonder if splitting up the URL will stop the forum software doing weird stuff to the link.

Regards,

Matthew.
XMOS
User avatar
Bianco
XCore Expert
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Contact:

Post by Bianco »

matthew1 wrote:Hi,

it looks like the link got mangled, not sure how.

Matthew.
XMOS
I fixed the URL for you using

Code: Select all

[url]http://....[/url]
Post Reply