Dev Tools won't open anymore (Windows XP - 32 bits)

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
User avatar
williamk
Experienced Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:47 pm

Dev Tools won't open anymore (Windows XP - 32 bits)

Post by williamk »

Here's the error message when I try to open:

"C:\Program Files\XMOS\DevelopmentTools\11.2.2\bin\xdeicon.bat"

Image

It was working before, not sure what changed.

So here's what I've done since it didn't open anymore:

1) update XMOS tools (the above screenshot is already from that update, but before it was also not working)

2) update JAVA

What else should I do?

WK


Wusik Dot Com (http://www.Wusik.com)
William-K.com (http://www.William-K.com)
User avatar
phalt
Respected Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 11:14 am

Post by phalt »

I'll let someone here at XMOS know about this problem you've got and ask them to get back to you about it.
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Post by kris »

Hi william,

Could you attach the eclipse log file created when it failed to open.
(It can usually be found lurking in your workspace, eg
<path to workspace>/.metadata/.log)?

Alternatively, if you could start the xde from a command prompt in the following way:

cd to <your tools install path>/xde_bin
and run: ./xde.exe -debug -consoleLog

The send the output, that'll be great.

Cheers,
Kris.
User avatar
octal
XCore Addict
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:30 pm
Location: Argenteuil - France

Post by octal »

You may also try to start the XDE with a clean config using:

./xde.exe -clean
User avatar
williamk
Experienced Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:47 pm

Post by williamk »

Thanks guys.

1) xde.exe -clean didn't solve the problem.

2) I did the debug thingy and here's the data it outputs

Start VM: -Xms40m
-Xmx1024m
-Djava.class.path=C:\Program Files\XMOS\DevelopmentTools\11.2.2\xde_bin\\plugins
/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.0.201.R35x_v20090715.jar
-os win32
-ws win32
-arch x86
-showsplash
-launcher C:\Program Files\XMOS\DevelopmentTools\11.2.2\xde_bin\xde.exe
-name Xde
--launcher.library C:\Program Files\XMOS\DevelopmentTools\11.2.2\xde_bin\\plugin
s/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.0.200.v20090519\eclipse_1206.dl
l
-startup C:\Program Files\XMOS\DevelopmentTools\11.2.2\xde_bin\\plugins/org.ecli
pse.equinox.launcher_1.0.201.R35x_v20090715.jar
-debug
-consoleLog
-vm C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\client\jvm.dll
-vmargs
-Xms40m
-Xmx1024m
-Djava.class.path=C:\Program Files\XMOS\DevelopmentTools\11.2.2\xde_bin\\plugins
/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.0.201.R35x_v20090715.jar
Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap

After that it tells me "No exit data available" and that other screen I posted above.

Txs again.
Wusik Dot Com (http://www.Wusik.com)
William-K.com (http://www.William-K.com)
User avatar
williamk
Experienced Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:47 pm

Post by williamk »

BTW: other Java based IDEs like the Arduino IDE is running without problems.

Wk
Wusik Dot Com (http://www.Wusik.com)
William-K.com (http://www.William-K.com)
User avatar
williamk
Experienced Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:47 pm

Post by williamk »

Any other ideas I could try? I really want to re-start my XMOS projects, most were delayed or just canceled, and now I want to start back.

Wk
Wusik Dot Com (http://www.Wusik.com)
William-K.com (http://www.William-K.com)
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Post by kris »

Hi William,

Appologies for not getting back to you sooner..

To be honest, I've not seen this error before and am struggling to reproduce this one my end, i.e. on winxp, using the java7 jre, the xde seems to startup ok. The error message at the end of the debug output you attached seems to imply that the jvm could not start because it was unable to get sufficent memory from the OS. Does this sound reasonable, i.e. are you running close to the limit of memory on your machine?

You could try changing the -Xms and -Xmx argument values set in the file:
C:\Program Files\XMOS\DevelopmentTools\11.2.2\xde_bin\xde.ini

and see if this has any effect? (These control the initial and maximum memory allocated for the jvm).

Cheers,
Kris.
User avatar
Skeksis
Active Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 9:42 pm
Location: England

Post by Skeksis »

Hi williamk,

Looks like you've hit the same issue I did, try working through this thread & see if that helps.


Good luck!
"Time is an illusion. Lunch-time doubly so." - Douglas Adams
User avatar
octal
XCore Addict
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:30 pm
Location: Argenteuil - France

Post by octal »

Hi,
I checked on the web and it seems it's a recurrent pb on Eclipse.
here are the three solutions I found and people claims this work!!!! (sorry, could not test cause I cant reproduce the pb).

Hope this helps ... please, let's know if any of these solutions works for you so that we add it to a sticky post or to wiki!!!

First solution:

in the INI file (eclipse.ini)
I replace « new lines » with « spaces »

Image

Second solution:
Facing the same error message with “eclipse-jee-galileo-SR1-win32″ in my Win XP. After long trying I simple removed in eclipse.ini this lines:
——————————————————
org.eclipse.platform
–launcher.XXMaxPermSize
256m
-vmargs
-Dosgi.requiredJavaVersion=1.5
-Xms40m
-Xmx512m
——————————————————–
now it starts and works!?

Third solution:
for the X64 pb

It looks people have found explanations and got their Eclipses going again. But I’d like to add one more thing to look for.

I had all the same problems with Eclipse. Mine turned out to be a virus: Packed.Win32.Krap.X, which had somehow invaded the heap address space of Eclipse. I ended up restoring Windows XP (although I should have tried a few more things suggested by Zone Alarm — I found them too late). Problem with Eclipse and my ancient Gnu Emacs went away.

By the way, changing the max heap size provided the clues that helped. I found it did not run with -Xmx256m but would run with -Xmx192m. Then I got a strange warning that my task manager had been disabled by an admin. That and a Google search being redirected to some place trying to sell me stuff.

zomb January 23, 2010 at 10:04 am
I found the fix that worked for me!

I had to install 32-bit JRE beside my 64-bit JRE, and now it works. (I had to lie about my operating system on Sun’s website to obtain it O_o)

I found out about this through an unrelated update of Vuze, which complained it did not find a JRE, and after pointing it to it, it complained that it was damaged and not a valid 32-bit JRE
Update:
There is also a set of solutions here
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2087 ... xit-code-1