How to find declaration of a service function from interface Topic is solved

If you have a simple question and just want an answer.
breakersun

How to find declaration of a service function from interface

Post by breakersun »

Dear Fellows,

I am a beginner of XMOS multicore from ST/Microchip MCU application.

Here I get a startkit and try to figure out how to make program on XMOS multicore.Seems I have some problem to find out how the button/led/touch slider works, cause I can't find out how is an interface function working, such as below one:

typedef interface startkit_button_if {
   [[notification]] slave void changed(); // Can't find the declaration, how it works?
   [[clears_notification]] button_val_t get_value(); // Can't find the declaration, how it works?
 } startkit_button_if;

I think I could use some help from community here. 
Would anybody help me to get over with it? I will be appreciate for that.

Thanks!
B.R.
Leo Sun

View Solution
vinith

Post by vinith »

Hello Leo Sun,

A function marked as [[notification]] will (well!) notify to the client program that something has occurred. It is a notification event. Function marked as [[clears_notification]] will clear the notification issued by calling them.

In your specific example here, you may write an app using the interface as:

void app(client interface startkit_button_if i_skbutton) {
  while(1) {
    select {
      case i_skbutton.changed(): { // something changed in the startkit button interface
        button_val_t btn_val;
        /*
            Get the button value using button interface. This will also clear the notification.
            If something else changes in the button interface then the 'changed()' event will be triggerred again and you will enter this case.
        */
        btn_val = i_skbutton.get_value(); // 
      }
    }
  }
}