Multichannel USB Audio Interface: Extend the XK-AUDIO-316-MC-AB channel amount.

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
Marf
New User

Multichannel USB Audio Interface: Extend the XK-AUDIO-316-MC-AB channel amount.

Post by Marf »

Hi, I'm not very experienced in MCU programming but I started using a XK-AUDIO-316-MC-AB to evaluate the build of an audio interface. I got everything set up and working so far for the 8in and 8out channels including midi. I also managed to get it running in TDM mode as I guess I will need that if I want to address more than 8 channels. Works perfectly so far.
Now I want to extend the input channel amount to 16 channels (first step, later perhaps more channels) and I start to struggle in different ways:
- How can I implement 2 more PCM1865 ADCs to get 8 the additional channels as the PCM1865 can only have two different i2c addresses? Do I need to use an additional i2c mux (as it is also used for "talking" to the clock chips) or is there another way to implement that? As far as I understand the code, I need to configure all ADCs by i2c and this seems to be implemented for only the two fixed addresses currently. Do I have to add the MUX and code to control it myself? (which should not be a serious problem, but I ask, if I have probably missed anything here?)
- The Makefile already offers setups up to 32 in and out channels, but how do I need to alter the hardware accordingly? Is there any further documentation I missed? Is it possible to test the software with only the 2 soldered pcm1865 and altering the jumper settings? (I guess no).
- Can anyone recommend a setup for developing and testing a 16ch in version?
- Do I understand correctly, that in TDM mode all channels (even up to 32) of the (up to 8) PCM1865 are streamed sequencially via just one X_ADC_Dn (e.g. X_ADC_D0) setting the accordingly offset for each PCM? Or is that also done in parallel (8 streams per X_ADC_Dn using e.g. X_ADC_D0 for ch 1-8 and X_ADC_D1 for ch 9-16 and so on)?