Quadrature decoder

XCore Project reviews, ideas, videos and proposals.
RogerH

Quadrature decoder

Post by RogerH »

Hi All,

A number of my projects require the decoding of a quadrature position sensor.

As a total newb to the XMOS world can anybody suggest to me a way of implementing this on XMOS chips. I have implemented this on Atmel ATmega chips using interupts triggered by the level change on one of the two phases.

From my reading to date it appears that this would implemented on XMOS by having a thread waiting on the transition of a phase input then examine the other phase relationship. There may be a much better way of doing this?

I would welcome suggestions on this. Please note that I do not have XMOS hardware at this stage so would need to simulate any suggested code...any thoughts on how I would simulate the two input phases?

Cheers, Roger...

Andy
Respected Member

Post by Andy »

Hi,
RogerH wrote: From my reading to date it appears that this would implemented on XMOS by having a thread waiting on the transition of a phase input then examine the other phase relationship. There may be a much better way of doing this?
I don't know a great deal about implementing Quadrature decoders but his sounds like a very reasonable approach. You can implement your decoding process as a thread on the XCore waiting for an event, such as data from I/O or another thread. The big benefit is that you don't need an interrupt routine because it is running in parallel with other threads of execution. Have a look at the select{} statement to start...

If your core decoder routine is written in C, you should be able to port it quite easily and call it from XC.
RogerH wrote: Please note that I do not have XMOS hardware at this stage so would need to simulate any suggested code...any thoughts on how I would simulate the two input phases?