X
RSS YouTube LinkedIn Twitter Facebook

Search




Post new topic Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
520
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:16 pm 
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:51 am
Posts: 162
I want to store some data in the Flash. In the manual it says the default boot partition is the entire boot partition is 0 bytes. How do I specify / allocate some space on the data partition? I looked through the documentation but could not find it. I would assume it should be an Xflash command when writing the initial flash to the device.

Also I've been using the OTP with the AES loader. The AES loader is created and burned into OTP but I can't modify it since there is no source. Is this available or is there a way to store additional information into the OTP (serial number/mac address) and read it back out?

Often times I want to serialize the device and issue firmware updates to my customers but do not want the firmware update to overwrite the serialized data. It's best if I could write this into OTP and read out parts of the OTP but as a current workaround I can settle for writing into the data partition of the flash which wouldn't be erased with a firmware update.


Top
Offline Profile View all posts by this user
 
2879
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:01 am 
User avatar
XCore Moderator
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 677
kster59 wrote:
I want to store some data in the Flash. In the manual it says the default boot partition is the entire boot partition is 0 bytes. How do I specify / allocate some space on the data partition? I looked through the documentation but could not find it. I would assume it should be an Xflash command when writing the initial flash to the device.


try xflash with the following option:
Quote:
--boot-partition-size <n>
Specify the size of the boot partition as <n> bytes


The remaining space will be the data partition.


Top
Offline Profile View all posts by this user
 
81
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 11:27 am 
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 11:20 am
Posts: 15
In the command window, I typed

xflash -target=XK-1A --boot-partition-size 120000

I am getting a message, "ERROR: F03021 No input archive specified


Top
Offline Profile View all posts by this user
 
2879
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 11:54 am 
User avatar
XCore Moderator
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 677
shyamkrish8iitm wrote:
In the command window, I typed

xflash -target=XK-1A --boot-partition-size 120000

I am getting a message, "ERROR: F03021 No input archive specified


You need to specify the XE file in order for xflash to know what to flash :)


Top
Offline Profile View all posts by this user
 
162
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 6:01 am 
User avatar
Active Member
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:53 pm
Posts: 32
Just out of curiosity, is there a way to do this in the IDE settings or do you have to do the xflash command by hand to have a data partition?


Top
Offline Profile View all posts by this user
 
701
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 1:11 pm 
User avatar
XMOS Employee
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:55 pm
Posts: 144
JohnWilson wrote:
Just out of curiosity, is there a way to do this in the IDE settings or do you have to do the xflash command by hand to have a data partition?


Yes there is a flash configurations menu which allows you to input these settings and flash the device.

Attachment:
flash_configurations.png [68.88 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


Top
Offline Profile View all posts by this user
 
162
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 7:00 pm 
User avatar
Active Member
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:53 pm
Posts: 32
No idea why I had trouble finding that before. Beautiful -- thanks!!!


Top
Offline Profile View all posts by this user
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests



Search for:
Jump to: