app_can_demo example issues. Program "crashes" on Tile[1

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
emh203

app_can_demo example issues. Program "crashes" on Tile[1

Post by emh203 »

Hello:

I am very new to xmos and and currently doing prototype evaluation. I come from the world of FPGAs and MCUs so I am trying to be patient. :-)

I loaded up the example code for the app_can_demo to try out the CAN bus functionality. I have a slice kit and my own custom PCB with hardware.

The default program does compile and run however I need to change the I/Os for my PCB so I modified line 6 of the program to select my I/O on tile[1]:

on tile[1]: can_ports p = { XS1_PORT_1E, XS1_PORT_1H, XS1_CLKBLK_1 };

I also edited the main par statement:

par {

on tile[1]: application(c_rx_tx);
on tile[1]: can_server(p, c_rx_tx);

}

When I build and run the program the debugger will always stop on the line 28):

is_response_to_notification = inuchar(c);

in mutual_thread_comm.xc

Any ideas? Is it possible to relocate this code onto tile 1? I was successful on some other projects examples (i.e. SPI) and was able to get stuff working.

Bianco
XCore Expert

Post by Bianco »

Hi,

inuchar() performs a read on a chanend, if no data is available the thread in execution will be blocked until there is data available.

I think your program is blocking on line 40 of this file: https://github.com/xcore/sc_util/blob/m ... ad_comm.xc

If the blocked thread is the can_server() function it likely means that you have removed some calls to functions in the module_mutual_thread_comm in your application() function or if you wrote the application() function from scratch you will have to make calls from functions in module_mutual_thread_comm speaking the protocol that can_server() understands
emh203

Post by emh203 »

Bianco:

Keep in mind I am using the demo code as is except for the port and tile changes. (Moving the CAN ports and threads to tile 1)