xmos soundcard ,change synchronous to asynchronous? Topic is solved

If you have a simple question and just want an answer.
superganbu
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:27 am

xmos soundcard ,change synchronous to asynchronous?

Postby superganbu » Tue Aug 06, 2019 3:52 am

Dear,
We have the xCORE-200-Multichannel-Audio-Platform-2V0 and we design our soundcard base on XMos, they both have the problem。
We use the bord to play the Sine sweep signal,and record ,then cmpute the FR(frequency response),we found that sometimes the FR is droped on some frequency point and get well at once,several times one day。
How to deal with the problem,any advise?

Is it because of the USB synchronous transmission?
Can we change the transmission to asynchronous?Is there the example software that provide?

Thank you very much,Looking forward to your reply.
View Solution
AlexAdvice
Experienced Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:30 am

Postby AlexAdvice » Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:34 am

XMOS USB is always async.
User avatar
akp
Respected Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm

Postby akp » Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:33 pm

Yup. Probably your test setup or you built the program wrong. Advise you to output sine to an audio analyzer, oscilloscope with FFT, etc for the DAC testing. For the ADC testing using a sig gen. So you know your instruments are good.

If you are 100% sure you're using the factory source for the MC Audio board and you don't have any weirdness going on (like JTAG debug output selected instead of xscope) then it's likely your PC.
superganbu
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:27 am

Postby superganbu » Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:52 am

Hi akp
We download the soft (sw_usb_audio-[sw]_6.15.2rc1.zip) from XMos website  and select ( app_usb_aud_xk_216_mc) (2i8o8xxxxx_tdm8) ;
We use xTIMEcomposer Version Community_14.3.2;

Is it right?

Thank you.
User avatar
akp
Respected Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm

Postby akp » Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:55 am

Yes that's correct. However, you need to ensure that if you are running under xtag that you ensure the debug output is selected as xscope and not jtag. Jtag debug output is slow and will prevent real time operation.

But it seems to me the other issue is the instruments you are using for testing, you didn't specify that.
superganbu
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:27 am

Postby superganbu » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:31 am

Hi akp
The debug select is no problem.
We use the soundcheck.
We found that the drop times is less when we use a better PC.
What is the lowest demand for the PC, or how to setup the PC, and any advise?

Thank you very much,Looking forward to your reply.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests