Page 1 of 1

XCORE SDK Install on M1

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2022 9:03 pm
by RitchRock
I'm trying to get the new xcore.ai explorer board going and following the XCORE SDK install steps (https://www.xmos.ai/documentation/XM-01 ... stallation) but am getting the following errors on M1. Is M1 supported?
m1issue.png

Re: XCORE SDK Install on M1

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2022 1:05 pm
by AndyCap
arch -x86_64 is probably needed before the make command.

Then everything should work under rosetta I guess.

Re: XCORE SDK Install on M1

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2022 6:55 pm
by RitchRock
For anyone else having this issue (am I really the first to try to build on Apple silicon?) here is the reccomended work around:

First, you can force CMake to build the x86 host app by adding the following line to the top of the file examples/freertos/device_control/host/CMakeLists.txt:

Code: Select all

set(CMAKE_OSX_ARCHITECTURES "x86_64" CACHE INTERNAL "")
The x86 host app will run on an M1. Alternatively, you can bypass the device control host app build by commenting out this line in examples/examples.cmake:

Code: Select all

add_subdirectory(${CMAKE_CURRENT_LIST_DIR}/freertos/device_control/host)