AVB projects: Multi channel audio dist. and mixing with DSP

XCore Project reviews, ideas, videos and proposals.
mark
New User

AVB projects: Multi channel audio dist. and mixing with DSP

Post by mark »

I am not an engineer or developer but an entrepreneur with a little engineering training and experience. Our company has developed a digital sheet music management and display system with integrated multichannel mixing called SamePage.

We broadcast 32 channels of 24bit audio at 48khz over a standard Ethernet network and then pull this audio off the network and mix it anywhere on the network via Windows with sub 3ms latency.

We are looking to eventually move to the new AVB standard. I am looking to understand what has been accomplished using xmos chips in conjunction with multichannel audio (24-48 channels). I have seen some of the application briefs on the AVB development kit. Has anyone experimented with how many channels of hi quality audio can be processed and mixed?

Jonathan mentioned that this seems feasible and some of the development might already be done. Is anyone working on anything like this?

Ideally I would like to have two primary devices. One would take 16 channels of I2S and place it on the AVB network. The other device would input 2 channels onto the AVB network and output 2 independent channels of mixed audio (mixed from the entire collection of channels). I would also like to do some DSP to each channel.

The XMOS AVB Application Guide has been helpful, but I still want to know more.

I would appreciate anyone's thoughts and input.

jonathan
Respected Member

Post by jonathan »

The best place to look for audio-related applications is here:

http://www.xmos.com/applications/audio-systems-and-usb

Hopefully someone here will be able to answer your question more specifically...
davelacey
Experienced Member

Post by davelacey »