XK-1A link two boards together

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
User avatar
Bianco
XCore Expert
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm

Post by Bianco »

That's because you use an XN file for a single XK-1(A).
The XN file contains the hardware description for a board and is certainly necessary for boards with more than 1 node, such as two XK-1's linked together.
It is kinda annoying to use a custom XN file in XDE.
What you can do is right click and choose import to project.
Then open the XN file in a text editor (right click, open with or something).
Then copy the content of the XN file from the dual board example to your project and save the XN file.
AFter that rebuild the project.


cicga
Active Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:48 pm

Post by cicga »

fk.....

now it showing:
"xrun: Valid object file not specified"

how you was able to go through all this problems?
no good documentation, no examples running from first time...

how I supposed to know that xn file should be changed if second board is linked?????
may be I am missing something
User avatar
Bianco
XCore Expert
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm

Post by Bianco »

I don't use the XDE, I use the command line.. its easy.. for example to compile the XMOS two board example:

Code: Select all

xcc -o dual_xk1.xe test.xc XS1-2L1.xn
Then to run it on the board:

Code: Select all

xrun --io dual_xk1.xe
I believe you currently have more issues getting your code build than having issues with the hardware.
The XDE is fine for standard development boards, but userfriendlyness lacks a bit for custom boards and multiple development boards hooked together.

I can create a XDE project with the two XK-1's for you if you want.
cicga
Active Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:48 pm

Post by cicga »

Hi Bianco,

thanks a lot for offering help, What do you want for your help?
I am working on complex robotic system where 24 actuators should work together. I dont know this kind of project is of any interest to you.

I fix problem by following your advice to rewrite manually xn file.
so now I have two threads running on two boards. Last stand - synchronise them.

best
cicga
User avatar
Bianco
XCore Expert
Posts: 754
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm

Post by Bianco »

I do not need anything for the help :-)
Glad to hear that things are working out now.