Hello!

First time on the site? Say hello here!
Manust
Member++

Hello!

Post by Manust »

Hey!

I'm Manuel, from Germany.
I'm working on my Master Thesis in the laboratory for digital techniques and microcomputertechnology. My masters project is a High End USB Streaming Device with several In/Output options combined with a High End Class-D Amp. After a while researching i decided to go with xmos devices for the USB streaming part.
So I'm new to xmos and after reading datasheets over datasheets i guess working with these controllers will be great.
I already made my first schematics which i will post in the relevant forum.

Greetings,
Manuel

TonyD
XCore Addict

Post by TonyD »

Hi Manuel

Welcome to the Xcore Exchange

Your USB streaming project sounds very interesting and a very good match for the Xmos processors.

If you want, you can add your design files to the projects section of the forum.
jason
XCore Expert

Post by jason »

Indeed, pretty much what TonyD said - welcome to XCore.com!
ale500
Respected Member

Post by ale500 »

Hei Manuel ! Welcome !.

Also from Germany ? Great !.

High-end class D... are you going with a discrete solution or are you going for instance with one of TI's class-D amplifiers ? I have used a couple of them... they are incredibly small for the power !
Manust
Member++

Post by Manust »

Hey

The Class-D Amp was a discrete Solution. I Also built an amp using TAS5630 from TI. They are great in their size but THD ratings were to high for this particular project.
My discrete Amp is based on the IRS20957 Gate Driver combined with IRF6645 Directfets. The results in THD and the sound are great. The PCB is sized 90mmx90mm with 2x120W or 1x240W output power. THD Ratings are below 0,01%.
Woody
XCore Addict

Post by Woody »

Hi Manuel and welcome,

Have you seen that there is a classD application example on xmos.com (https://www.xmos.com/applications)?