Driving Kent Displays with XMOS Chips

XCore Project reviews, ideas, videos and proposals.
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Driving Kent Displays with XMOS Chips

Post by jonathan »

Version: 0.1
Status: Under development
License: BSD

Figured I need a project for this now I have the board, cable and all the bits and pieces I need. Initially I'm just going to try to drive the LCD:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... ts_id=9560
This LCD has a 16-pin FFC 1.0mm pitch connector soldered onto the board. I ordered a cable from here:
http://www.toby.co.uk/Content/catalogue ... =AXO-xxxxx
Part number: AXO-01264
This seems to fit the connector OK. I'm now working out how to get the other end connected onto the XMOS board. Once I've got the LCD driving, I've a pile of other interesting things to do with it, but that's for later.
Images:


Image
User avatar
shawn
XCore Addict
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:15 am

Post by shawn »

Can't wait to see this, there's a lot of interest in this model. me anyways!
Hope I can scratch the cash for one of these, they seem efficient.
Like what your doing, Semper Fi.
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Post by jonathan »

It looks like I should use a 250KHz SPI clock for this. Just going through the XMOS SPI example trying to work out what I need to do to get it working. Will keep you all posted. Source code will go up as soon as I've got it driving. Probably some time tomorrow morning if I get my act together... Not had much time today.
Image
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Post by jonathan »

I split the wire and used the few wires I had to connect this to the XC-1A.

The board does something strange if I power it up with the display connected - the chip doesn't seem to boot and the demo code doesn't run...

If I power it up standalone and then plug in the display, no problem - the demo code continues to run.

http://twitpic.com/1751jo

Next step I'll get it to do something using the SPI bus.
Image
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Post by jonathan »

Got the display driving high... now I need to build a better SPI driver to support variable length commands, implement the display's library of commands and then implement some useful functions such as text display.

Pretty cool.
Image
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Post by jonathan »

By the way, if anyone from Kent Displays reads this, get in touch. I'd love to have some more kit to play with. :-)
Image
User avatar
jonathan
Respected Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:07 pm

Post by jonathan »

I seem to have driven the LCD into a state where the only command it will respond to is a software reset.

Not sure what to do. Have asked Kent. Anyone got any ideas?
Image
mpatalberta
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 12:41 am

Post by mpatalberta »

I am using the kentdisplay using the spi connection.

How sensitive is the device to spi frequencies less than 250Khz?

I send data out yet no response from the kentdisplay - What did you do to get the revision information?