Code Timing Analysis

Technical questions regarding the xTIMEcomposer, xSOFTip Explorer and Programming with XMOS.
User avatar
Andy
Respected Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:34 pm

Code Timing Analysis

Postby Andy » Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:35 pm

Does anyone have any tips on how to measure the time a piece of code takes to run (probably in the order of msec) using the simulator or otherwise?
User avatar
paul
XCore Addict
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:13 am

Postby paul » Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:33 pm

I recommend you take a look at the XMOS Timing Analysis (XTA) Tool tutorial...
Paul

On two occasions I have been asked, 'Pray, Mr. Babbage, if you put into the machine wrong figures, will the right answers come out?' I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question.
User avatar
Andy
Respected Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:34 pm

Postby Andy » Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:44 pm

paul wrote:I recommend you take a look at the XMOS Timing Analysis (XTA) Tool tutorial...
Thanks! The tool looks excellent - I haven't seen too much said about it on the forums.
DaveBest
Member++
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:36 pm

Postby DaveBest » Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:16 am

It is useful.

But i am not exactly sure how to handle external I/O with it.

Also, if your code gets more extensive, you can't use the XTA.
In its default eclipse ini file it only gets 512M of memory and that hardly even satisfy the demands of the ethernet stack.

I could only increase it to 1536M of memory but that doesn't cover our application, so you have to make do with creating dummy functions to decrease memory load and to time only portions of your code.
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Postby kris » Mon Jan 25, 2010 3:09 pm

Hi All,

Just to let you know, there's been some extensive work done recently on the internal memory usage of the xta, so hopefully in the next release (intended for march 2010), you should be able to work with much larger programs. More specifically, you should be able to load programs of any size, as the memory usage will only be dependant on the portions of the code to be profiled.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest