USB Audio EVM

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
Lorien

USB Audio EVM

Post by Lorien »

Hi there,
I'm Lucian and I'm a newbie on this forum for about 5 minutes or so :) and I've allready a couple of unanswered questions for you guys. So, let's keep it simple:
* I'm interesed in buying two USB audio development kits. If it's from XMOS or Digikey, doesn't matter now. Reason: bit-perfect, asynch audio data over USB for my "sensitive ears". I guess I've said it all! BUT now comes the big problem: drivers and supporting XC/C-language firmware (I'm referring to source code, not those bin files because I don't intend to start doing reverse engineering nor reinvent the whell). So, if someone know such sensitive details and wants to share its wisdom with me (and perhaps with all guys who - accidentally - reads this message), it's welcomed to do so! Main targets are source code written in high-level language... doesn't matter which one - I can adapt AND continuously updated drivers for XS1-L1 chip. If I have to signs some NDAs or pay a license fee.. it's ok.
Otherwise, some advices regarding this matter would be more than good.
For now, I can only thank you for spending your time reading my post,
Lucian

lilltroll
XCore Expert

Post by lilltroll »

Start with requesting the source-code from XMOS.
You will probably have to sign something, but you will not need to pay anything to receive it.
If you receive the code - you can order the cards.

A thing to consider prior spending your money on the cards is that it has one common ground-plane that shares both dual USB ground and the CODEC analog ground including line-in ground. Any external connection that introduces any ground loops will heavily effect the audio quality to levels far below "sensitive ears".

PS. I think Ali at XMOS has done a good work with the ver. 1.50 of the source code. It's based on different modules so it's easy to start working with it.