xta: error: heap memory running low, aborting

Technical questions regarding the xTIMEcomposer, xSOFTip Explorer and Programming with XMOS.
Bambus
Member++
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:52 pm

xta: error: heap memory running low, aborting

Postby Bambus » Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:43 pm

Hi all,

I am trying to optimize runtime for some functions I have written but all I get when using xta analyze function is an error: xta: error: heap memory running low, aborting

I am running the tool from console. Is there any way to convince xta that there is enough memory on my computer?

Thanks!
robertxmos
XCore Addict
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:23 am

Postby robertxmos » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:34 am

Hi Bambus

You will need to increase the Java Virtual Machines runtime maximum heap size (prevents the JVM gobbling up all memory if it goes awol).
I can't remember the details of setting up the eclipse JVM environment but here are a couple of links that may have enough info for you:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/143 ... or-eclipse
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/156 ... ze-in-java

robert
moh_algoblan
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2019 11:39 am

Postby moh_algoblan » Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:29 am

robertxmos wrote:
Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:34 am
Hi Bambus

You will need to increase the Java Virtual Machines runtime maximum heap size (prevents the JVM gobbling up all memory if it goes awol).
I can't remember the details of setting up the eclipse JVM environment but here are a couple of links that may have enough info for you:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/143 ... or-eclipse
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/156 ... ze-in-java

robert
I have the same problem, I tried to increase the maximum heap size from the control panel (through java configuration), but that didn't really work with me. any other ways to increase the heap size other than the control panel method?
MuellerNick
Member++
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:33 am

Postby MuellerNick » Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:36 am

Same problem here!
It seems, that it can't be fixed on Windows. I'm running Win7 (Pro, 64 bits).
xTIMEcomposer requires a 32 bit Java (as XMOS states on the download page). And 32 bit Java can only handle 4 GB. If you go beyond that, Java will crash. And a 64 bit Java doesn't work. Been there, done that.

I really don't understand why XMOS can't get their tools to work properly.

Nick

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest