Demo UART, XTAG-2 UART-to-USB questions

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
landon
Experienced Member

Demo UART, XTAG-2 UART-to-USB questions

Post by landon »

I'm studying the app_xk1_demo.1v0 application and trying to understand how to look at the TX UART output via host tools.

I have connected a scope to the TX (P1J0) pin on the XTAG-2 XSYS connector and I can see characters flying by on the wire - I commented out the getch() in test_uart() code so it won't block waiting for input:

Code: Select all

while (1)
  {
    uart_putch('\r');
    uart_putch('\n');
    uart_putch('x');
    uart_putch('k');
    uart_putch('-');
    uart_putch('1');
    uart_putch('v');
    uart_putch('1');
    uart_putch('.');
    uart_putch('0');

//c = uart_getch();
    //uart_putch(c);
  }
It's constantly pushing characters and I can see them flying by on my scope.

My question is, where does this come out w/r to XTAG-2. The XK-1 Hardware manual says:

"If a UART is required, it can be implemented in software by sampling and driving these ports at the required rate. The XTAG-2 peforms a UART-to-USB conversion on these pins, which is interface by a proprietary XMOS terminal emulator."

I see the demo program output from printstr() calls in my XDev console window:

XK-1 Demo program, v1.0, ESawdust variant
testing flash...
flash device Id: 1F66011F
running demo
I assumed this was using the UART_TX pin, but doesn't seem to be - I don't see any scope output on UART_TX correlated to the printstr() functions.

Where does the output from the XTAG-2 XSYS UART_TX pin come into the system...the "proprietary XMOS terminal emulator" connection?

Where do I find the proprietary terminal emulator referred to in the hardware manual?

How does the printstr() get its output back to the console in XDev? Must be through some other part of the XTAG-2 connection/protocol?