Constraint check - how to?

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
Post Reply
User avatar
landon
Experienced Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:05 pm
Contact:

Constraint check - how to?

Post by landon »

When I've blown the stack size in my program, during compile time, I see a constraint check that spits out some useful information:

Code: Select all

Constraint check for node 0, core 0:
  Stack available:  <00000000,   used: 00000448 .  FAILED
  Threads available:        8,   used:        5 .  OKAY
  Timers available:        10,   used:        2 .  OKAY
  Chanends available:      32,   used:        6 .  OKAY
Error: Constraints check FAILED for node 0, core 0.
During a successful compile, this information is not dumped. But during development I'd like keep track of it even if I'm not failing it. Is there a command line way to get the constraint output above even in the case of a successful compile?

Landon


User avatar
bsmithyman
Experienced Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:31 pm
Contact:

Post by bsmithyman »

Yep, you can change it on a per-project basis. It might also be possible to change the default, though I haven't tried. I'm using the Mac OS X version of the interface, but I believe it's the same on my Linux system if memory serves (so Windows probably follows as well).

Go to the menu item [Project > Properties]. From there, choose "C/XC Build", then "Settings". Under "Mapper/Linker" go to "Tool Settings", then "Reports", and choose "Show Constraint Report".

Hope that helps!
User avatar
landon
Experienced Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:05 pm
Contact:

Post by landon »

Definitely! I could have wandered around for days looking for that.

I am also using XDev on OS X.

Thanks,

Landon
User avatar
paul
XCore Addict
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:13 am
Contact:

Post by paul »

For those not using the XDE:

On the command line (or in your makefile!) pass the -report to xcc to get the constraints dump...

Cheers,
Paul

On two occasions I have been asked, 'Pray, Mr. Babbage, if you put into the machine wrong figures, will the right answers come out?' I am not able rightly to apprehend the kind of confusion of ideas that could provoke such a question.
omega7
Active Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:16 pm

Post by omega7 »

A somewhat old case, but could somebody tell me why I get the following constraint check for a XS1-L2 configuration wtih CAVEATS and MAYBE's?

Thanks in advance!

Code: Select all

Constraint check for node 0, core 0:
  Stack available:   00009df4,   used: 00000f2c .  OKAY
  Threads available:        8,   used:        7 .  OKAY
  Timers available:        10,   used:        5 .  OKAY
  Chanends available:      32,   used:       21 .  OKAY
    Constraints checks PASSED.
Constraint check for node 0, core 0:
  Stack available:   0000fccc,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
  Threads available:        8,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
  Timers available:        10,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
  Chanends available:      32,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
    Constraints checks PASSED WITH CAVEATS.
Constraint check for node 32768, core 0:
  Stack available:   0000bda0,   used: 00000cbc .  OKAY
  Threads available:        8,   used:        6 .  OKAY
  Timers available:        10,   used:        8 .  OKAY
  Chanends available:      32,   used:       25 .  OKAY
    Constraints checks PASSED.
Constraint check for node 32768, core 0:
  Stack available:   0000fcb0,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
  Threads available:        8,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
  Timers available:        10,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
  Chanends available:      32,   used:  unknown .  MAYBE
    Constraints checks PASSED WITH CAVEATS.
Post Reply