XC-1A supern00b examples?

New to XMOS and XCore? Get started here.
Skeksis

XC-1A supern00b examples?

Post by Skeksis »

Hey all,

Are there, or is anyone willing to slip my way, simple wiring examples for using various bits & pieces with the XC-1A board? My background is in software with very little previous experience in electronics bar a few University projects utilising an Arduino Mega.

I'm finding the learning curve fantastically steep & have yet to stumble upon a nice simple example which doesn't use the on-board LEDs. Learning XC I have no trouble with, equally no trouble with making LEDs twinkle merrily but I could really do with a little nudge forward when it comes to hooking something up to X*PortA & being able to get myself programming for that.

Any hints, tips or Voodoo enchantments would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jonathan

"Time is an illusion. Lunch-time doubly so." - Douglas Adams
TSC
Experienced Member

Post by TSC »

Why don't you tell us what kind of stuff you want to hook up to the ports, and maybe someone can help you with a more specific task.

More LEDs?
Switches/buttons?
Motor?
LCD?
GPS/cellphone/camera/espresso machine...?

Or you could go looking for projects which use other microcontrollers. Almost any AVR/Arduino/PIC project's hardware can easily be transferred over to XMOS. The software would be harder to port, but you should be able to manage that. You just have to make sure to never put too much voltage into a port pin. The quad core XMOS devices can use 3 to 5V signalling (5.5V max) but I think the one and two core devices can only take 3.3V (3.6V max).
Skeksis

Post by Skeksis »

Hi TSC, thanks for replying.

I think in my case the software would be easier to deal with, my previous experience with tinkering with hardware is minimal so I'm less than confident with plugging things into my XMos willy-nilly as I'll probably blow it up. It's the jump from theoretical to practical knowledge which is hampering me.