NetGear ProSafe GS716Tv2 and XR-AVB-LC-BRD

Sub forums for various specialist XMOS applications. e.g. USB audio, motor control and robotics.
User avatar
davygrvy
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 5:54 pm

NetGear ProSafe GS716Tv2 and XR-AVB-LC-BRD

Postby davygrvy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:38 am

Hi,

I just got a license key (GS716TAV-10000S) to enable AVB (EAV in NetGear-speak), but I can't see how to get the end-points to start talking. 802.1AS port settings are all 'disabled'. 'MSRP Statistics' show thousands of bad header messages from the two end-points. It seems to show the stream advertisements, but the the boards can't connect

No clue on this at all. The netgear dox http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/ ... July11.pdf are no help.
User avatar
tarboy
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby tarboy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:06 pm

I had exactly the same problem. Basically the Netgear switch won't work, as, as I understand it, it doesn't support the ratified standards for MSRP and MVRP in IEEE 802.1Q-2011 - hance the bad headers. They shouldn't be selling the license IMHO, although the Netgear tech support don't appear to know much about the product and what version it should support.

BTW did you get a delivery charge for receiving the license? I believe I did, but received it via email...
User avatar
davygrvy
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 5:54 pm

Postby davygrvy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:53 pm

You rock! Thank you. http://www.shopblt.com did not charge me shipping, but a few words on how to install it on the switch would have been nice though I got through it.

Now what? Do I moan to NetGear tech support? Or toss this and pony-up for a LabX, BSS, or a DSP4YOU switch?

There's so little to choose from at the moment.
User avatar
tarboy
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby tarboy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:04 pm

\m/

I understand that the BSS switch is the same as the Netgear switch. I think that your options are essentially labX or extreme networks. This is only if you need management of course. A cheap unmanaged switch seems to work ok. I've had the endpoints working with a Netgear FS105 and an 8 port Dynamode switch.

It's been slow going with Netgear but have got in touch with who I bought the Netgear license from today, so hopefully that will be quicker. I had a £10 delivery charge for an email.
User avatar
davygrvy
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 5:54 pm

Postby davygrvy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:10 pm

I have timing problems with a dumb switch. Right channel will randomly become late then recover after about 4 seconds.
Last edited by davygrvy on Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tarboy
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby tarboy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:34 pm

I'd have thought that presentation time should have sorted that out at the listener if you've routed left and right channels separately, or that, for 2 channel audio, the left and right channels would be in the same 1722 frames.

All I can say is that I've not had any problems myself with the XMOS demo applications, but then I think the one's I've used have been 2 channel audio.
User avatar
davygrvy
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 5:54 pm

Postby davygrvy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:55 pm

Yes, presentation time should manage this, but as a dumb switch doesn't maintain Qav requirements in a mixed-use environment late packets drop the listener into an apparent fall-back behavior until things stable after a few seconds. It's rather gross, but better than cliff-effect of a whole mute state.
User avatar
davygrvy
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 5:54 pm

Postby davygrvy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:15 pm

http://www.provantage.com/extreme-netwo ... TNT0ER.htm

a thousand for just eight ports... wheeeee :/ But with PoE, though, so not too awful, but still it breaks my bank for this hobby project. I'll need PoE later on for the remote micpre aspect.

I just might have to bail on this entirely until 2nd gen stuff come around. Difficult I don't mind, but this is getting impossible on a hobbyist budget.
User avatar
davygrvy
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 5:54 pm

Postby davygrvy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:39 pm

According to the helpful tech support person at BSS, the netgear firmware is using version 5 of the streaming reservation protocol. xcore might be at v6. back-down xcore to v5?

He says if I want v6, about the only option right now is the LabX
User avatar
tarboy
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:45 pm

Postby tarboy » Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:44 pm

XMOS only ever supported version 6 or 6.1 (ie. what's in 802.1Q-2011) as far as I'm aware.

I don't know what the point is of having a product that only supports a draft version of a standard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests