No Available Devices Found

All technical discussions and projects around startKIT
runfarr
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:20 am

No Available Devices Found

Postby runfarr » Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:13 pm

I just received my startKIT in the mail yesterday. I have downloaded and installed xTIMEcomposer and it appears to be working, i.e. it will build a project. When I try to set up a Run Configuration and select the startKIT as a Target Device, none can be found. From the command line I enter

Code: Select all

xrun -l
and get the following response:

Code: Select all

No Available Devices Found
. I am running Windows 7. Help!
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1750
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am

Postby mon2 » Wed Dec 25, 2013 2:30 am

Are you on Windows 7 64 bit ? From our experience, a driver that was not signed was installed as a default. On 64 bit Windows operating systems, such a driver is not permitted to load without alternate bypass methods. The driver must be Microsoft signed for 64 bit platforms. Noting this, likely the issue is the JTAG driver -> confirm this by viewing your Device Manager -> do you see a yellow exclamation mark on the JTAG function ?

Note the documentation referenced below and specifically page # 8 for the correct driver package for 64 bit operating systems.

See URL for PDF on a procedure that worked on my system (Windows 7 64 bit with Community tool 13.0.0 + XMOS startKit). The filesize is greater than 512 KB so it could not be posted here. The PDF is hosted on our company server.

http://www.softio.com/doc/xmos_tutorial_v11.pdf

Let us know if this helps. Hope it does.
runfarr
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:20 am

Postby runfarr » Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:42 am

I tried the recommended fix (twice, just to be sure). I get the same result. The only difference I can see is in the Device Manager:

[img]C:\Users\richard\Pictures\DeviceManager.jpg[/img]

It shows that my XMOS StartKIT is under XMOS Devices, not LibUSB-Win32 Devices.

Any other ideas are welcome.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
MLM
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:15 am

Postby MLM » Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:32 am

I am having the same problem as runfarr except I am running on Windows 8 64 bit.

The device appears perfectly under "LibUSB-Win32 Devices" as "XMOS StartKIT" and the demo fading X LEDs are lighting.

Image
jimb
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:58 am

Postby jimb » Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:04 am

Unfortunately you can add me to the list.
No devices found. Leds fading on and off. Device manager says device is ok?
jimb
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:58 am

Postby jimb » Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:41 pm

Merry Christmas to all...
I have resolved this issue on my system.
I was connecting via USB HUB. As everyone has indicated, the device is shown connected and working by device manager but is not found by the development studio.
I moved my connection from the HUB to a port on my PC and the studio now found the board.
Hope this works for anyone else having this problem.

Have a Great NEW YEAR,

Jim
Where did all this snow come from????
User avatar
mon2
XCore Legend
Posts: 1750
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:43 am

Postby mon2 » Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:46 pm

jimb wrote:Merry Christmas to all...
I have resolved this issue on my system.
I was connecting via USB HUB. As everyone has indicated, the device is shown connected and working by device manager but is not found by the development studio.
I moved my connection from the HUB to a port on my PC and the studio now found the board.
Hope this works for anyone else having this problem.

Have a Great NEW YEAR,

Jim
Where did all this snow come from????
Very interesting. In theory, the hub should not have made a difference but we will test for this as well. Curious if others are also using a HUB ? Or perhaps there is a hub controller internal on the motherboard ?
User avatar
MLM
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:15 am

Postby MLM » Thu Dec 26, 2013 5:02 am

jimb wrote:Merry Christmas to all...
I have resolved this issue on my system.
I was connecting via USB HUB. As everyone has indicated, the device is shown connected and working by device manager but is not found by the development studio.
I moved my connection from the HUB to a port on my PC and the studio now found the board.
Hope this works for anyone else having this problem.
Connecting it directly to my laptops USB Port worked for me as well.

I was not using a hub but I did have it run through this USB Isolator: http://www.circuitsathome.com/products- ... -populated
runfarr
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:20 am

Postby runfarr » Thu Dec 26, 2013 3:45 pm

Problem solved (?). While trying my startKIT on a linux box, I moved the physical location of the board. When I re-attached to my Windows machine, I used another USB port - this one is on the right-hand side, not the left. This time the startKIT was recognized and seems to be functioning properly. (I moved it again to the left where it failed, and again to the right where it works). My problem is "solved" in that I got it to work. But I don't know why. I suspect that my laptop (HP Pavilion dv7) uses various USB hubs/devices for its four ports.

Thanks for all the replies.
User avatar
MatCat
Active Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 11:51 am

Postby MatCat » Sat Dec 28, 2013 9:38 pm

I am having this problem, I tried the alternative drivers and it is still not working, on Windows 7 64 bit, I can see it as pictured above on USB devices, but xtime refuses to see it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest