XS1-U8A-64-FB96 Are NC pins truely not connected?

Technical discussions around xCORE processors (e.g. General Purpose (L/G), xCORE-USB, xCORE-Analog, xCORE-XA).
bearcat
Respected Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:49 am

XS1-U8A-64-FB96 Are NC pins truely not connected?

Post by bearcat »

Can I route through these pads for other signals (power & mode)?

NC = A4, B4, L3, G2, H2

I assume I can, just double checking. Thanks.


User avatar
lilltroll
XCore Expert
Posts: 956
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:53 am
Location: Sweden, Eskilstuna

Post by lilltroll »

I just took a standard multimeter, put in diode test mode, placed the red wire on the ground balls and the black wire on A4.

The multimeter shows ~0.65 V , meaning that the pin is connected to some type of semiconductor inside.

My XS1-U8A-64-FB96 is from an early production batch.
User avatar
EdB
Member++
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:58 am

Post by EdB »

I'm afraid not, these pins are connected to the silicon for device testing, and have to be left NC on the PCB.

Ed
User avatar
Ross
XCore Expert
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:20 pm

Post by Ross »

bearcat wrote:
I assume I can, just double checking. Thanks.
I would guess that is a bad assumption.
bearcat
Respected Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:49 am

Post by bearcat »

Thanks all.

Maybe a better name for those pads may be "Test" or "Don't Connect" ;)