Idea aboutrun Asterisk VOIP with XMOS

Technical discussions related to any XMOS development kit or reference design. Eg XK-1A, sliceKIT, etc.
nassim
Experienced Member

Idea aboutrun Asterisk VOIP with XMOS

Post by nassim »

Hi all

I am new in this technologies XMOS (Kits and Tools) and i use IP core (HDL description) to build a SOC (System on Chip) in FPGA to run an Linux (uclinux) and Asterisk embedded or using FPGA as FXO/FXS to communicate with other device (telephone fax pc ..)
my SOC include CPU,UART,ETHMAC, SPI, DDR SDRAM and ROM

So my question is, can i use XMOS for this application or there is another solution for VOIP application.

thanks and i will be happy to help me or join to a project has the same goal.

thanks

Berni
Respected Member

Post by Berni »

Short answer no.

You cant really run linux or and OS like that on the xmos also there is no external memory bus so you only got the 64KB of memory per core. You can connect an ram chip to the i/o pins but its slower and cannot be used for program memory (unless you are running an interpreter) I think you are best off using some sort of ARM as they do run various OS and have external memory buses and being voip i'm guessing low power usage is something you need too.
nassim
Experienced Member

Post by nassim »

Hi berni

thanks for you quick replay, ok now i see so i can't add to kit an external memory

so, if i using as digium board PBX (http://www.digium.com/en/products/digital/) and connect him to Host (PC) throat RG45 (LAN) or PCI and Asterisk is installed in PC and configure asterisk to connect to XMOS as Driver card.

So what you think
jonathan
Respected Member

Post by jonathan »

Another short answer - I would be very surprised if the XMOS chip couldn't handle a VOIP implementation. Handling it with the kind of stack you are using is not going to happen though...