sliceKIT is here!

Technical discussions related to any XMOS development kit or reference design. Eg XK-1A, sliceKIT, etc.
ale500
Respected Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:15 am

Post by ale500 »

Hei Leon, a slice with SDRAM and SD card would be great !!, bigger SDRAM :) Some fast ADC would be also useful.


User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller »

I'll see what I can do.
User avatar
dan
Experienced Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:30 pm

Post by dan »

ale500 wrote:Hei Leon, a slice with SDRAM and SD card would be great !!, bigger SDRAM :) Some fast ADC would be also useful.
Why would you want SDRAM and SDCARD on the same slice?

I presume the ADC on the GPIO slice is too slow?
ale500
Respected Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:15 am

Post by ale500 »

There is a connector with 24 IOs...
User avatar
dan
Experienced Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:30 pm

Post by dan »

You need to be slightly careful about that since the additional 4 (1-bit port) IOs are only available in the Triangle and Circle Slot. So if you wanted to combine the SDRAM/SDCARD with another slice which uses the extra IOs (say for example the LCD slice) then the SDCARD may not be reachable, which is why we didn't go for this cram-it-in approach.

Incidentally you should be able to remove the sdram on the official slice and replace it with a larger pin compatible part from the same manufacturer ISSI (not sure off hand what the max size that would work is), although the sdram controller would need a few tweaks to handle that.
ale500
Respected Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:15 am

Post by ale500 »

There is no free lunch :(.

A slice with a L1 would also be quite useful, 10 pins for a fast link and extra free pins from the L1...
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller »

My sliceKIT has now been delivered. Unfortunately, the power supply was supplied with the wrong UK pins - they don't fit it. The other two sets of pins are OK, though (French and US, I think), they slide on without any problems. I phoned XMOS and they are sorting it out. I might have a suitable supply I can use until the correct pins get sent.

I just found that I had a suitable supply, made by PowerPax UK, like the one supplied by XMOS. It powers up the sliceKIT OK, now to have a play with it.
User avatar
segher
XCore Expert
Posts: 844
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:31 am

Post by segher »

Hello, Cylon!

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<Network xmlns="http://www.xmos.com"
xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.xmos.com http://www.xmos.com">
  <Type>Board</Type>
  <Name>Slice</Name>

  <Declarations>
    <Declaration>core stdcore[2]</Declaration>
  </Declarations>

  <Packages>
    <Package id="0" Type="XS1-L2A-QF124">
      <Nodes>
        <Node Id="0" InPackageId="0" Type="XS1-L1A" Oscillator="25MHz" SystemFrequency="500MHz">
          <Boot>
            <Source Location="SPI:bootFlash"/>
            <bootee nodeid="1"/>
          </Boot>
          <Core Number="0" Reference="stdcore[0]">
            <Port Location="XS1_PORT_1A" Name="PORT_SPI_MISO"/>
            <Port Location="XS1_PORT_1B" Name="PORT_SPI_ROM_CS"/>
            <Port Location="XS1_PORT_1C" Name="PORT_SPI_SCK"/>
            <Port Location="XS1_PORT_1D" Name="PORT_SPI_MOSI"/>

            <Port Location="XS1_PORT_4A" Name="PORT_LEDS"/>
          </Core>
        </Node>
        <Node Id="1" InPackageId="1" Type="XS1-L1A" Oscillator="25MHz" SystemFrequency="500MHz">
          <Boot>
            <Source Location="xmoslink"/>
          </Boot>
          <Core Number="0" Reference="stdcore[1]">
          </Core>
        </Node>
      </Nodes>
    </Package>
  </Packages>

  <ExternalDevices>
    <Device NodeId="0" Core="0" Class="SPIFlash" Name="bootFlash" Type="M25P16">
      <Attribute Name="PORT_SPI_SS"   Value="PORT_SPI_ROM_CS"/>
      <Attribute Name="PORT_SPI_CLK"  Value="PORT_SPI_SCK"/>
      <Attribute Name="PORT_SPI_MOSI" Value="PORT_SPI_MOSI"/>
      <Attribute Name="PORT_SPI_MISO" Value="PORT_SPI_MISO"/>
    </Device>
  </ExternalDevices>

  <Links>
    <Link Encoding="5wire" Delays="0,1">
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="0" Link="XLG"/>
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="1" Link="XLF"/>
    </Link>
    <Link Encoding="5wire" Delays="0,1">
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="0" Link="XLH"/>
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="1" Link="XLE"/>
    </Link>
    <Link Encoding="5wire" Delays="0,1">
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="0" Link="XLE"/>
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="1" Link="XLH"/>
    </Link>
    <Link Encoding="5wire" Delays="0,1">
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="0" Link="XLF"/>
      <LinkEndpoint NodeId="1" Link="XLG"/>
    </Link>
  </Links>

  <JTAGChain>
    <JTAGDevice NodeId="0"/>
    <JTAGDevice NodeId="1"/>
  </JTAGChain>

</Network>

Code: Select all

#include <xs1.h>
#include <platform.h>


void udelay(unsigned n)
{
        timer t;
        unsigned time;

        t :> time;
        t when timerafter(time + n * (XS1_TIMER_HZ / 1000000)) :> void;
}


on stdcore[0]: out port leds = PORT_LEDS;


static void cylon(void)
{
        for (;;) {
                unsigned j;

                for (j = 0; j < 6; j++) {
                        leds <: ~(1 << j);
                        udelay(100000);
                }

                for (j = 0; j < 6; j++) {
                        leds <: ~(8 >> j);
                        udelay(100000);
                }
        }
}


int main(void)
{
        par {
                on stdcore[0]: cylon();
        }

        return 0;
}
GPIO board in Star slot.

Note I have to invert what I send to port 4A -- is the GPIO board schematic
wrong for the LEDs? The LEDs also faintly light up when the port is not in
output mode.

Works fine with an XTAG btw :-)
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller »

I've just tried the suggested GPIO Simple Demo, but can't drag the application from the xSofttIP pane to the xTIMEcomposer Project Explorer - nothing happens! I'm following this Quickstart Guide:

http://www.xmos.com/published/swgpioexa ... ion=latest

Does anyone know what is wrong?
User avatar
Folknology
XCore Legend
Posts: 1274
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:20 pm

Post by Folknology »

Leon Dragging modules from the softip frame into the project frame worked for me on Ubuntu, or at least did so when I tested it earlier this week, perhaps its peculiar to your setup.

PS I did have some other issues however as you can see from the link, don't think they are related though

regards
Al