Xflash jtag-speed has no efect

Technical discussions related to any XMOS development kit or reference design. Eg XK-1A, sliceKIT, etc.
Post Reply
Noeldi
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:11 pm

Xflash jtag-speed has no efect

Post by Noeldi »

Hi
I have big problem with the XTAG-2. From 20 custom boards 10 are not working.
I testet with xflash -l (11.1.0 build 2237) and the defect boards answer with:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\GantnerR>xflash -l

Available XMOS Devices
----------------------

  ID    Name                    Adapter ID      Devices
  --    ----                    ----------      -------
  0     XMOS XTAG-2             rvZSJE0E        None
The working boards list the Devices correctly:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\GantnerR>xflash -l

Available XMOS Devices
----------------------

  ID    Name                    Adapter ID      Devices
  --    ----                    ----------      -------
  0     XMOS XTAG-2             rvZSJE0E        L1[0..3]
I checked all the JTAG lines and everything looks nice except the TDO is always low.
The board has 2 XS1-L2 and the schematics around the jtag is identical to the “Motor Control Platform” Version 1V1.
It buffers the RST_N and the TRST_N with a open collector buffer (NC7WZ07P6X) and the TMS and the TCK are buffer with a NC7WZ17P6X.

I tried also to reduce the jtag speed by

Code: Select all

Xflash –l –jtag-sped 100
This has no effect. The TCK periode frequency is always 12.5 MHz.
Is there an other way to change the jtag speed on the XTAG-2 ?
By the way the "RST-N" on Pin 15 on XTAG-2 is never activated.

Of course it could by a soldering problem – but 10 out of 20 are to many with exactly the same problem.


User avatar
XMatt
XCore Addict
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:55 pm

Post by XMatt »

Hi Noeldi

RST will not be activated by doing a device listing, such as xflash -l. This will only be activated when the debugger or xflash connects to the XCore device.

The command to change the jtag speed is as suggested but it might be best to try it with xrun rather than xflash as it will make debugging simpler. You should be able to issue the command

xrun -l --jtag-speed 50 for example, the divider for the XTAG device only goes up to 75, ive just noticed the help does not specify that so I will fix that.

The -l command to xrun or xflash just does a simple TRST reset of the device and then scans the JTAG chain for XCore devices which it then reports back to the user in the output. There should definitely be output on TDO if the part are soldered down correctly and connected to the XSYS header.
Noeldi
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:11 pm

Post by Noeldi »

Hi XMatt,

the speed option on xflash has no effect and the same option at xrun is not recognized

Code: Select all

C:\Users\GantnerR>xrun -l --jtag-speed 50
xgdb: unrecognized option `--jtagspeed'
Use `xgdb --help' for a complete list of options.

C:\Users\GantnerR>xflash -l --jtag-speed 50

Available XMOS Devices
----------------------

  ID    Name                    Adapter ID      Devices
  --    ----                    ----------      -------
  0     XMOS XTAG-2             rvZSJE0E        None
I use windows 7 and the version of xflash and xrun is 11.11.0 (build 2237)
User avatar
XMatt
XCore Addict
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:55 pm

Post by XMatt »

Apologies, I have just reviewed the xflash and xrun code and they do not support using --jtag-speed in combination with the --listdevices options. This will be rectified in a follow up 11.11 bugfix release which is currenly being worked on.

In order to get access to this functionality currently you will have to use xgdb (which xflash and xrun both call to access the JTAG interface).

The command for doing this is

Code: Select all

C:\>xgdb -q -batch --ex "listdevices --jtagspeed 50"

Available XMOS Devices
----------------------

  ID    Name                    Adapter ID      Devices
  --    ----                    ----------      -------
  0     XMOS XTAG-2             UPgXQ3YI        L1[0]


C:\>
Noeldi
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:11 pm

Post by Noeldi »

Thanks a lot
Now the jtag speed is changed!!
But still no Device is listed – we recognized that the processor is not placed precisely and has an offset of about 0.15 mm. We will X-ray the board and hopefully we see something.
Post Reply