Rebooting XS1 device fails

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
voodoosound
Active Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:53 pm

Rebooting XS1 device fails

Post by voodoosound »

Hi,

I want to do a software reboot. I have seen the corresponding threads here in the forum but to write to PLL Control register does not work.

After writing to the PLL control register, the core resets. However, it does not access the flash memory, but the internal pulldown resistor pulls the voltage to 2,8V.

I conclude from this, that the core has power but isnt doing anything.

Could anyone help me out?

Regards,
Ck


User avatar
sethu_jangala
XCore Expert
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:03 am

Post by sethu_jangala »

devices
voodoosound wrote: I want to do a software reboot. I have seen the corresponding threads here in the forum but to write to PLL Control register does not work.
http://www.xcore.com/questions/1768/how ... os-devices

Have you seen the information in the above answer in the Q&A section. Can you share us the code which you are using for soft reset?

Sethu.
voodoosound
Active Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:53 pm

Post by voodoosound »

Code: Select all

on tile[0]: void parameter_management(chanend c_rx, chanend c_tx,chanend c_param_ctl[])
{
while (1)	{
		select		{
			case c_param_ctl[1] :> unsigned int parameter:{
				switch(parameter){
					case SPI_REBOOT:
                                                read_sswitch_reg(get_local_tile_id(), 6, x);
                                                simple_printf("rebooting...\n");
                                                write_sswitch_reg(get_local_tile_id(), 6, x);
						break;
				}
				break;
			}
		} // end select
	} // end while
}
User avatar
sethu_jangala
XCore Expert
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:03 am

Post by sethu_jangala »

The device you are using is a single tile device or multi-tile device? If you are using a single tile device, the above code looks alright to me. But for multi-tile device, you need to do a reset for each tile separately.

Sethu.
User avatar
Ross
XCore Expert
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:20 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Post by Ross »

also, G, L, U or A series device?
User avatar
segher
XCore Expert
Posts: 844
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:31 am

Post by segher »

And, are the MODE pins set correctly (during the reboot)?
voodoosound
Active Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:53 pm

Post by voodoosound »

Thank You very much, resetting Tile 1 and then Tile 0 works now!

Mode Pins have been correct and its an L16A (2 Tiles with 8 Threads each)