Debug breakpoints in the IDE.

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
Matt

Debug breakpoints in the IDE.

Post by Matt »

Hi,

I have been experimenting using breakpoints in the IDE Debugger and have noticed that I can only set them in some places. I get a little exclamation, unresolved breakpoint. Can someone clue me in on where they can be used.

Cheers

Matt

Andy
Respected Member

Post by Andy »

Are you compiling your code in debug configuration? It disables optimisations and should allow you to put a breakpoint anywhere.
Matt

Post by Matt »

I have tried cleaning the project and hitting the debug button from the debug view. Does that automatically compile with the debug or do I have to edit the make file? Sorry I am pretty new at this.
Andy
Respected Member

Post by Andy »

Matt wrote:I have tried cleaning the project and hitting the debug button from the debug view. Does that automatically compile with the debug or do I have to edit the make file? Sorry I am pretty new at this.
Try selecting the arrow beside the build 'hammer' icon and choose "Debug" rather than "Release". Then hit the debug button to run.
Matt

Post by Matt »

I am working on the XMOS TCPIP v1.2 It does not seem to have any other build options other than "XMOS Compiler Collection (XCC)".
I have had a look at another project and can see that therer is other build configurations so I can see what your talking about. I can I make another build config that has debuging for the project I am working on.

Thanks for you help
Andy
Respected Member

Post by Andy »

Ah I didn't realise its using a custom make file to compile. I think this complicates things slightly as the file will need edited directly to change the optimisation level. Perhaps someone more experienced with these can suggest how to go about changing it.