MP3 code build errors

Technical questions regarding the XTC tools and programming with XMOS.
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

MP3 code build errors

Post by leon_heller »

I get the following errors when building the MP3 code:

xmake[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Users/Leon/workspace/xmos_mp3_1v1/build'
xmake[1]: Entering directory `C:/Users/Leon/workspace/xmos_mp3_1v1/build'
A subdirectory or file .\XS1-L2A-QF124 already exists.
xmake[1]: [XS1-L2A-QF124/] Error 1 (ignored)
A subdirectory or file .\XS1-L2A-QF124\fake_inc already exists.
xmake[1]: [XS1-L2A-QF124/fake_inc/] Error 1 (ignored)
A subdirectory or file ..\bin\XS1-L2A-QF124 already exists.
xmake[1]: [../bin/XS1-L2A-QF124/] Error 1 (ignored)

The build doesn't succeed, although the errors have been ignored.

Has anyone built that application successfully?


User avatar
Andy
Respected Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:34 pm

Post by Andy »

I haven't tried to built it since the version 9 tools, though I seem to remember having problems with it back then.

Have you looked at the other MP3 decoder I ported for my Wi-Fi project?
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller »

Thanks, Andy. I'd forgotten about that project.

Unfortunately, that doesn't build with the current tools either:

Constraint check for node 0, core 3:
Stack available: <00000000, used: 00000e5c . FAILED
Threads available: 8, used: 1 . OKAY
Timers available: 10, used: 0 . OKAY
Chanends available: 32, used: 4 . OKAY
Error: Constraints check FAILED for node 0, core 3.
xmake: *** [Wiphoria.xe] Error 1

There seems to be a problem with the stack.

Cleaning the project generates this error:

.\MP3_decoder\subband.o .\MP3_decoder\trigtabs_fixpt.o Wiphoria.xe, ...) failed.
make (e=2): The system cannot find the file specified.

xmake: [clean] Error 2 (ignored)

Anyway, XMOS should do something about their code as it's an official software component on their web site and it creates a bad impression with customers if it doesn't build "out of the box".
User avatar
Andy
Respected Member
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:34 pm

Post by Andy »

Are you compiling for a G4? Compiles OK for me using the 10.4.2 tools... are you compiling with -O2 optimisations (Release build)?
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Post by leon_heller »

I was building in Debug mode. It's OK in Release mode.