Multi-channel PWM for LED controller

XCore Project reviews, ideas, videos and proposals.
JohnL

Multi-channel PWM for LED controller

Post by JohnL »

Hi,
I'm completely new to XMOS devices, but they look interesting!
I have a design requirement for a multi-channel LED controller for a large chandelier.

The LEDs are RGBW running at 350mA each, so I have designed a lamp unit with a series switching circuit that simply needs individual logic level PWM drive signals.

I want 14bit PWM resolution to achieve smoothness of low level fading. The PWM frequency does not need to be more than ~1kHz to avoid movement strobing. I plan to control each chandelier using an ethernet port. So far so good, but as I have 120 lamps, that totals 480 PWM signals!

I've concluded that I have three options for my control board:
1. 120 x PIC controllers each with 4 PWM outputs, controlled over SPI / I2C bus from a master uP
2. One or more FPGAs generating 480 PWM signals
3. XCORE devices generating 480 PWM signals

So, can this be done with XCORE devices, and would this be the best option :)

segher
XCore Expert

Post by segher »

Since the output only has to be 1kHz, I'd use some shift registers (which you can
then also put closer to the leds, less wiring that way). For example, 30 16-bit
shift registers.
Interactive_Matter
XCore Addict

Post by Interactive_Matter »

I second the idea of shift registers.
I personally like using MCP23S08 or MCP23S16 for shift registers, since they are real SPI output extenders (if you need an input too). But 74*595 can be sufficient. And there are a lot of options esp for LEDs.

For my HL1606 project I have written som pulse density encoder to get a very smooth high frequency grayscale generation - the advantage against PWM is that the switching frequency is higher (for the same number of gray scale levels and output frequency).