XTIME Composer Registration Problem

Technical questions regarding the xTIMEcomposer, xSOFTip Explorer and Programming with XMOS.
lokesh327
Member++
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:24 pm

XTIME Composer Registration Problem

Postby lokesh327 » Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:37 pm

I have recently download XTIME Composer and when I open and provide my login info for Registration, I am getting "Unable to connect to https://www.xmos.com.

What might be the problem. How to solve this and open XTime Composer
User avatar
sethu_jangala
XCore Expert
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:03 am

Postby sethu_jangala » Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:52 pm

Hi Lokesh,

Are you behind a proxy server to connect to Internet. If this is the case, Click on "Configure Proxy Server Settings" and set your proxy settings and restart the tool and try registering it.

Sethu.
lokesh327
Member++
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:24 pm

Postby lokesh327 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:04 am

Hi,

I also tried it. I have configured the http, https, socks with my ip and port address but its not working.
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Postby kris » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:13 am

Hi,

Could you submit a support request for this issue?
(https://www.xmos.com/contact/support)

Cheers,
Kris.
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Postby kris » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:39 pm

Hi lokesh,

Did you manage to get going with this, i.e. were you able to register?
If not, then it would be good if you could run the xTIMEcomposer with
logging enabled so as we can see what might be happening in your case.
If you submit a support request (https://www.xmos.com/contact/support), then
we can give this a go.

Cheers,
Kris.
lokesh327
Member++
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:24 pm

Postby lokesh327 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:50 pm

Hello Kris,

Ya, I can run Xtime Composer now. Our IT team has solved the problem.
BMDMAN
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:47 pm

Postby BMDMAN » Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:46 pm

lokesh327 wrote:Hello Kris,

Ya, I can run Xtime Composer now. Our IT team has solved the problem.
Hi, Can you remember what the fix for this was? I have the same issue, and I am not behind a proxy server.....

Regards

Brandon
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Postby kris » Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:26 am

Hi Brandon,

Running the xtimecomposer with debug logging enabled might help in this case. Just start the tool via the relevant debug* script in xtimecomposer_bin/scripts, attempt to log in, then save off all the output in the terminal. I'll be happy to take a look at this to see if this gives us a clue. Warning: Your password might show up in the url logging, so you might want to remove this before attaching the log here!

Cheers,
Kris.
BMDMAN
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:47 pm

Postby BMDMAN » Wed Sep 03, 2014 1:43 pm

Hi Kris,

I found that checking the 'Disable Security Certificate Checking' allowed the connection to work.

I just noticed there is another thread on here that is the same fault and fix. >http://www.xcore.com/questions/2743/xso ... ion-failed

So it would be interesting to know the why's

regards

Brandon
User avatar
kris
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:52 pm

Postby kris » Fri Sep 05, 2014 9:43 am

Hi Brandon,

The disable certificate checking option simply tells your jvm to trust any certificate it gets back from the server. In this case it looks like your jvm can't validate the certificate returned from xmos.com, so it fails to set up the ssl connection. Checking this option works around this issue, at the expense of removing the authentication, thus opening yourself up to potential security issues (man-in-the-middle attacks, etc).

As for causes, I guess there are 2 options:
1) The problem is our end, i.e. we are issuing dodgy certificates. I'll look into this here.
2) You are using a proxy to access the internet. I've seen this previously where the proxy was acting as a man in the middle for the connection, and returning it's own certificate to the xtimecomposer instead of the one from xmos.com, causing the error. Could this be happening in your case?

To investigate further, you could re-enable the checking, then add the following option to the end of the xtimecomposer_bin/xtimecomposer.exe.ini file: -Djavax.net.debug=ssl:trustmanager.
This will produce a log of the authentication process, so I'd be happy to have a poke around in this to see if this helps us.

Cheers,
Kris.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests