many (16+) channels streaming over usb audio 2.0?

If you have a simple question and just want an answer.
mlrogers
New User

many (16+) channels streaming over usb audio 2.0?

Post by mlrogers »

I'm new to XMOS, and usb audio 2.0, but not new to hardware or software engineering. My current need is to stream lots of audio channels (hopefully over USB), output only (so no recording needed, just DACs). I'm wondering about the xCORE-200 eXplorerKIT for getting started, but obviously I would like to know if what I want to do is possible with this hardware (I guess that means the XEF216-512-TQ128 in this case). 

Or are there some more ports I can connect to and configure as more I2S channels on the xCore-200 Multichannel Audio Platform Board?

A couple of questions:

I've been digging in the I2S/TDM Library documentation a bit (just found it about an hour ago) - it says I can have 32 channels in and 32 out, but it doesn't say (or I didn't find that part yet) if they can all be I2S or if I have to mix it with TDM. Tables 3 and 4 seem to imply that I can go no higher than 8 audio channels (so 4 I2S channels) per logical core. Can I (must I) do all 32 using 4 cores?

Does USB Audio 2.0 allow for so many channels to stream? I know 8 will show up on my Mac and linux boxes magically when I plug an 8-channel audio device into the USB port - is there a limit built into USB Audio 2.0?

Thanks in advance -

Michael

Post by Guest »

This is one of the more useful documents on USB 2 audio class. (Apple TN2274). Go to the "Maximum Packet Size" section for your answer

https://developer.apple.com/library/mac ... 1-TNTAG8_1
mlrogers
New User

Post by mlrogers »