I've used the -o file_name.bin to create binaries for programming many times in the past, but today it is not writing to the file. I've tried on Windows and 2 different OSX computers with tools 14.3.2 -> 14.4.1.
With --verbose at the end it always finishes with xrun: No available devices.
My entire command is:
xflash --factory file-name.xe --key keyfile -o file-name.bin --verbose
Has anyone dealt with this issue before?
-o and --outfile not creating file
-
- XCore Addict
- Posts: 224
- Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:25 pm
-
- XCore Expert
- Posts: 580
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm
I use the --noinq target option when I build a factory bin file
-
- XCore Addict
- Posts: 224
- Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:25 pm
When I add -noinq it says that I must specify the boot-partition size. When I add a boot-partition size (it's never asked me to specify this before), it fails when compiling the second stage bootloader:
Code: Select all
s2l-n0-fb57dc51:2907:3: error: use of undeclared identifer `quad_spi_qe_location_status_reg_0'
quad_spi_qe_location_status_reg_0,
^
s2l-n0-fb57dc51:2908:3: error: use of undeclared identifer `quad_spi_qe_bit_6'
quad_spi_qe_bit_6
^
Error: F03010 Failed to compile second stage bootloader
-
- XCore Expert
- Posts: 580
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm
Could it be a problem with your XN file and are you building the .xe file with the same tools release as xflash?
I get the following warning but it builds just fine:
xflash: Warning: F03148 --quad-spi-clock not given, using default 15.62MHz
xflash: Warning: F03149 QE_REGISTER and/or QE_BIT locations not found in XN file for this flash device. Using default flash_qe_location_status_reg_0 and flash_qe_bit_6.
I get the following warning but it builds just fine:
xflash: Warning: F03148 --quad-spi-clock not given, using default 15.62MHz
xflash: Warning: F03149 QE_REGISTER and/or QE_BIT locations not found in XN file for this flash device. Using default flash_qe_location_status_reg_0 and flash_qe_bit_6.
-
- XCore Addict
- Posts: 224
- Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:25 pm
I'm not specifying my .xn file until a later step when I go to program devices. If I include it at this step, the same failure happens.
-
- XCore Expert
- Posts: 580
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm
Sorry, I mean when you built the xe file
-
- XCore Addict
- Posts: 224
- Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:25 pm
OK I got it to work by changing the following two lines in my .xn file. The more recent tools changed the attribute value I guess?
Code: Select all
<ExternalDevices>
<Device NodeId="0" Tile="0" Class="SQIFlash" Name="bootFlash" Type="IS25LQ016B">
<Attribute Name="PORT_SQI_CS" Value="PORT_SQI_CS"/>
<Attribute Name="PORT_SQI_SCLK" Value="PORT_SQI_SCLK"/>
<Attribute Name="PORT_SQI_SIO" Value="PORT_SQI_SIO"/>
<!--<Attribute Name="QE_REGISTER" Value="quad_spi_qe_location_status_reg_0"/-->
<!--<Attribute Name="QE_BIT" Value="quad_spi_qe_bit_6"/>-->
<Attribute Name="QE_REGISTER" Value="flash_qe_location_status_reg_0"/>
<Attribute Name="QE_BIT" Value="flash_qe_bit_6"/>
</Device>
-
- XCore Expert
- Posts: 580
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:47 pm
Glad you got it working