Putting an XC-2 on the Web

Technical discussions related to any XMOS development kit or reference design. Eg XK-1A, sliceKIT, etc.
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Putting an XC-2 on the Web

Postby leon_heller » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:26 pm

Now I've sorted out my problems with my XC-2s, I'll see if I can make one of them available via the Web. I came across this outfit: http://www.no-ip.com/ that some people use for hosting their own web servers. It's free for a basic account. Has anyone else done anything similar, not necessarily with XMOS kit?
User avatar
Berni
Respected Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:17 pm

Postby Berni » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:40 pm

Yeah all these dynamic DNS services work great. A lot of routers even have a client for them built in so you don't need a program constantly running and checking if your IP has changed.Only thing to make sure is that your router is passing on the correct ports to the correct addresses (especially with multiple routers on your LAN) The quick way of checking that is to type your IP in to a online proxy site and see if it opens (Trying to open your IP from your own network doesn't work).

Altho i don't recommend exposing the XC-2 to the web with the horrible TCP/IP stack we have now that locks up even when put up against LAN traffic.(Come on xmos give us usable ethernet)
User avatar
leon_heller
XCore Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: St. Leonards-on-Sea, E. Sussex, UK.

Postby leon_heller » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:56 pm

Thanks, Berni. It looks as though I'm on the right lines. I've also got a couple of ARM mbeds here, and I think that web server software is available for them. I've got four spare ports on my BT Home Hub.

I just tried accessing my host address - leonheller.servebeer.com. I got taken to the Home Hub manager which asked me to change the password. This shows that something is working, I suppose.
User avatar
Berni
Respected Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:17 pm

Postby Berni » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:39 am

Well do make sure you have the web configuration off on your hub. You have to watch out what parts of the LAN you expose to the outside world(There be badies out there).So its best to only forward the port you need and keep everything else closed. Also the server must have a static IP inside your LAN to make sure the outside traffic always forwards to it.(Might not need to if the DHCP is smart enough)
User avatar
jason
XCore Expert
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:15 pm

Postby jason » Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:24 pm

Indeed I used DynDNS for years - really good service IMO.

http://www.dyndns.com/
User avatar
RogerH
Active Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:14 am

Postby RogerH » Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:38 pm

My ARM 7 LPC2478-STK some times on the Internet:

http://hills.getmyip.com

LPC2478, FreeRTOS, uIP

Cheers, Roger...
User avatar
RogerH
Active Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:14 am

Postby RogerH » Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:50 am

Hi Leon,

Any progress on getting the XC-2 on the net?

Regards, Roger...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests